DSGVO / Damages and Employee Data Protection - Judgment of ArbG Düsseldorf dated March 5, 2020, ref. no. 9 Ca 6557/18

GDPR / compensation and employee data protection

GDPR

The Düsseldorf Labor Court has awarded an employee a claim for compensation for his non-material damage under Article 82(1) of the GDPR after his former employer failed to provide him with complete and timely information under Article 15 of the GDPR (Düsseldorf Labor Court, judgment of March 5, 2020 - 9 CA 6557/18).

What was it about?

The parties disputed before the Düsseldorf Labor Court about the provision of disclosures, information and copies as well as compensation under the GDPR. After termination of the employment relationship, the plaintiff asserted claims for damages against the former employee, a company with its registered office in Düsseldorf, due to incomplete and delayed data disclosure according to Art. 15 GDPR and in this context demanded damages in the total amount of EUR 143,482.81. Among other things, the plaintiff demanded information as to whether his personal data had been processed by the defendant and by other persons or companies, as well as various other issues named in the statement of claim, and the surrender of a copy of the personal data processed by the defendant.

The Düsseldorf Local Court awarded the plaintiff damages of EUR 5,000.00 in this connection.

Legal background

According to § 15 DSVGO the data subject shall have the right to obtain confirmation from the controller as to whether personal data concerning him or her are being processed and, where this is the case, the data subject shall have the right to obtain information about such personal data and the information referred to in Section 15(1)(a) - (h). In cases where material or immaterial damage has been caused due to a breach of the GDPR, the person has a claim for damages against the controller or the processor.

According to the Düsseldorf Labor Court, the plaintiff was entitled to such damages in the amount of EUR 5,000.00. In the present case, the defendant had not complied with the requirements of Art. 15 para. 1 subpara. 1, subpara. 2 lit. a, b in conjunction with Art. 12 Par. 1, 3 E. violated and thus impaired the plaintiff's right to information. Due to the months-long delayed, then insufficient information, the plaintiff had been in the dark and the examination had first been denied to him and then only possible to a limited extent, whether and how the defendant had processed his personal data, according to the Düsseldorf Labor Court.

The employee had suffered non-material damage because of this. According to Recital 146 of the GDPR the controller or processor shall compensate for damage suffered by a person as a result of processing that does not comply with this Regulation. The concept of damage is to be interpreted broadly in the light of the case law of the Court of Justice and in a way that is fully consistent with the objectives of this Regulation. In particular, there would be no de minimis threshold that would lead to the denial of a claim for damages under Art. 81 para. 1 DSGVO leads to. The severity of the non-material damage is decisive for the justification of the liability according to Art. 82 para. 1 DSGVO irrelevant and only affects the amount of the claim.

The court has quantified the non-material damage of the plaintiff in the present case at EUR 5,000.00. Thus, the court states in the reasons for the decision with recital 146 of the GDPR:

"The affected person should receive full and effective compensation for the harm suffered. Violations must be effectively sanctioned for E. to work, which is achieved primarily through damages in deterrent amounts."

Outlook and consequences

The decision is not yet final and has since been assigned the case number 14 Sa 294/20 at the Düsseldorf Regional Court. If the ruling is upheld or if other national courts follow the Düsseldorf judges, the ruling will represent a decision of unimagined scope for employee data protection and bring about a considerable leverage effect in favor of employees. It can be assumed that the assertion of non-material damage claims under Art. 82 para.1 DSGVO in the context of termination of employment relationships, with which employees will attempt to effectively enforce and prepare their own claims in the event of termination or other termination of the employment relationship.

Whether there is a need for action on your part as an employer with regard to DSGVO compliance or whether it makes sense for you as an employee to assert a corresponding claim for damages, requires an examination by a lawyer experienced in data protection and employment law.

DSGVO / Schadensersatz und Beschäftigtendatenschutz – Urteil des ArbG Düsseldorf vom 5 März 2020, Az. 9 Ca 6557/18

DSGVO / Schadensersatz und Beschäftigtendatenschutz

DSGVO

Das Arbeitsgericht Düsseldorf hat einem Arbeitnehmer einen Anspruch auf Ersatz seines immateriellen Schadens nach Art. 82 Abs. 1 DSGVO zugesprochen, nachdem sein ehemaliger Arbeitgeber ihm keine vollständigen und rechtzeitigen Auskünfte nach Art. 15 DSGVO erteilt hat (Arbeitsgericht Düsseldorf, Urteil vom 5. März 2020 – 9 CA 6557/18).

Worum ging es?

Die Parteien stritten vor dem Arbeitsgericht Düsseldorf um die Erteilung von Auskünften, Informationen und Kopien sowie um eine Entschädigung nach der DSGVO. Der Kläger machte nach Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses Schadensersatzansprüche gegen den ehemaligen Arbeitnehmer, ein Unternehmen mit Sitz in Düsseldorf, wegen unvollständiger und verspäteter Datenauskunft nach Art. 15 DSGVO geltend und verlangte in diesem Zusammenhang einen Schadensersatzanspruch in Höhe von insgesamt 143.482,81 EUR. So verlangte der Kläger unter anderem Erteilung einer Auskunft, ob seine personenbezogenen Daten von der beklagten Partei sowie durch andere Personen oder Unternehmen verarbeitet wurden sowie diverse andere in der Klageschrift benannten Fragen sowie Herausgabe der Kopie der personenbezogenen Daten, die die Beklagte verarbeitet hat.

Das Amtsgericht Düsseldorf hat dem Kläger in diesem Zusammenhang einen Schadensersatz in Höhe von 5.000,00 EUR zugesprochen.

Rechtlicher Hintergrund

Gemäß § 15 DSVGO hat die betroffene Person das Recht, von dem Verantwortlichen eine Bestätigung darüber zu verlangen, ob sie betreffende personenbezogene Daten verarbeitet werden und – soweit dies der Fall ist – hat die betroffene Person ein Recht auf Auskunftserteilung über diese personenbezogenen Daten und auf die in § 15 Abs. 1 lit a) – h) benannten Informationen. In den Fällen, in denen wegen eines Verstoßes gegen die DSGVO ein materieller oder immaterieller Schaden entstanden ist, hat die Person einen Anspruch auf Schadensersatz gegen den Verantwortlichen oder gegen den Auftragsverarbeiter.

Ein solcher Schadensersatzanspruch stand dem Kläger nach Auffassung des Arbeitsgerichts Düsseldorf in Höhe von 5.000,00 EUR zu. Die Beklagte habe vorliegend die Vorgaben aus Art. 15 Abs. 1 Hs. 1, Hs. 2 lit. a, b iVm. Art. 12 Abs. 1, 3 E. verletzt und damit das Auskunftsrecht des Klägers beeinträchtigt. Durch die monatelang verspätete, dann unzureichende Auskunft sei der Kläger im Ungewissen gewesen und ihm die Prüfung zunächst verwehrt und dann nur eingeschränkt möglich gewesen, ob und wie die Beklagte seine personenbezogenen Daten verarbeitet hat, so das Arbeitsgericht Düsseldorf.

Der Arbeitnehmer habe deswegen einen immateriellen Schaden erlitten. Nach Erwägungsgrund 146 der DSGVO soll der Verantwortliche oder der Auftragsverarbeiter Schäden, die einer Person aufgrund einer Verarbeitung entstanden sind, die mit dieser Verordnung nicht im Einklang stehen, ersetzen. Der Begriff des Schadens soll dabei im Lichte der Rechtsprechung des Gerichtshofs weit und auf eine Art und Weise ausgelegt werden, die den Zielen dieser Verordnung in vollem Umfang entspricht. Insbesondere gäbe es keine Bagatellschwelle, die zur Versagung eines Schadensersatzanspruches nach Art. 81 Abs. 1 DSGVO führe. Die Schwere des immateriellen Schadens sei für die Begründung der Haftung nach Art. 82 Abs. 1 DSGVO irrelevant und wirke sich nur noch bei der Höhe des Anspruchs aus.

Den immateriellen Schaden des Klägers hat das Gericht vorliegend auf 5.000,00 EUR beziffert. So führt das Gericht in den Entscheidungsgründen unter Rückgriff auf den Erwägungsgrund 146 der DSGVO aus:

Die betroffene Person soll einen vollständigen und wirksamen Schadensersatz für den er- littenen Schaden erhalten. Verstöße müssen effektiv sanktioniert werden, damit die E. wirken kann, was vor allem durch Schadensersatz in abschreckender Höhe erreicht wird.“

Ausblick und Konsequenzen

Die Entscheidung ist noch nicht rechtskräftig und inzwischen mit dem Aktenzeichen 14 Sa 294/20 beim Landgericht Düsseldorf geführt. Soweit das Urteil bestätigt wird oder sich andere nationale Gerichte den Düsseldorfer Richtern anschließen, wird das Urteil eine Entscheidung ungeahnter Tragweite für den Beschäftigtendatenschutz darstellen und einen beachtlichen Leverage-Effekt zugunsten von Beschäftigten herbeiführen. Es ist davon auszugehen, dass die Geltendmachung von immateriellen Schäden nach Art. 82 Abs.1 DSGVO im Rahmen der Beendigung von Arbeitsverhältnissen wird, mit der Arbeitnehmer im Falle einer Kündigung oder sonstigen Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses versuchen werden, eigene Ansprüche effektiv durchzusetzen und vorzubereiten.

Ob Ihrerseits als Arbeitgeber Handlungsbedarf in puncto DSGVO-Compliance besteht oder ob für Sie als Arbeitnehmer die Geltendmachung eines entsprechenden Schadensersatzanspruches Sinn ergibt, bedarf einer Prüfung durch eine datenschutz- und arbeitsrechtlich versierten Anwalt.