The company agreement in labor law

Law firm for labor law in Kerpen, Cologne and Witten

Labor law | Strong partner for employees and employers

The company agreement

Law office BAUMFALK in Kerpen-Horrem and Witten

Lawyer for - Labor Law | Criminal Law | IT Law | Data Protection

Company agreement, company agreement in labor law, company agreement labor law, company agreement lawyer, company agreement in labor law, company agreement lawyer, lawyer labor law Kerpen, lawyer labor law Cologne, lawyer labor law Witten

The legal basis for a company agreement results from § 77 BetrVG. A company agreement is an agreement between the employer and the Works Council. The company agreement regulates rights and obligations for the employees, the employer or the Works Council of the company. In the public sector, there are no company agreements, but so-called service agreements, which are concluded between the staff council and the department. Should there be several Works Councils within a company, a central works council must be made up of these several members. Works Councils be established. 

This is composed of one or two members of each individual works council. However, the central works council is not superior to the individual works councils. In the case of parent companies and subsidiaries, a group works council can be established in such a case, which then adopts the resolutions and then also the works or group agreements for the entire group.

The works agreement must be in writing and signed by both parties. Normally, works agreements regulate, for example, the dress code, smoking bans, working time models or even vacation and occupational health and safety. However, not everything can be regulated in a works agreement. Further or additional regulations that have normally already been concluded by a collective agreement are not legal. This is only different if the collective agreement explicitly permits regulation by works agreement. This clause within the collective agreement is also known as an opening clause. The regulatory power of the works agreement is thus limited in scope, but has a direct and coercive effect.

The agreement concluded must be made known by the employer. For this purpose, it is sufficient if the works agreement has been displayed or hung up in a suitable place in the company. The effect of a works agreement is unlimited in its form. However, it can be terminated with a regular notice period of 3 months or replaced by a new one. However, a works agreement can also be terminated automatically by a time limit, an agreement between the parties to the works agreement to terminate the agreement, the end of the period of employment, or the termination of the agreement. Works Council (if the company agreement was tied to it), the insolvency of the company, or else by a Transfer of operations. Partial termination of the works agreement is not possible. The content of a works agreement can therefore only be valid in full or not at all. 

Exceptions to this general rule only exist if the employer and the works council have agreed on a possible partial termination within the works agreement. However, partial termination of the agreement is only possible if the part that continues to exist makes sense on its own and constitutes a closed regulation. If a works agreement has been terminated, however, this shall have effect in accordance with § 77 VI BetrVG after. This means that the terminated company agreement will continue to exist until there is a new arrangement between Works Council and the employer. However, this also only applies to works agreements where a ruling by the conciliation body could replace the regulation between the employer and the works council.

A works agreement makes sense if the employer wishes to make a regulation which generally requires the positive consent of the works council. If, on the other hand, the works council is involved in matters requiring co-determination, it can even initiate measures itself through its right of initiative.

The scope of a company agreement applies to almost all employees of the company. The agreements concluded also apply to employees who only join the company after a works agreement has been concluded. Thus, the works agreement has an effect on all future employees. However, a works agreement does not apply to persons who are covered by the § Section 5 (2), (3) and (4) of the Works Council Constitution Act (BetrVG) fall. These are not covered by the provisions of a company agreement. These include, for example, legal representatives or a member of a corporate body or executive employees according to the company's employment contract.

Basically, a distinction must be made between two types of works agreements. The first of the two is the enforceable works agreement. In the case of this, the works council has its own right of co-determination, as already mentioned. If the employer refuses to enact a works agreement, the works council can, according to § 87 BetrVG appeal to the conciliation board. The final decision of the conciliation body replaces the agreement between the employer and the works council. 

In this way, therefore, the employer can be forced to enact it. The second type of works agreement is the voluntary works agreement. In these agreements, everything is regulated where the works council has no right of co-determination. The § 88 BetrVG is not conclusive, and only proposals for topics are made. As a result, a works agreement can only be concluded in this way if the employer and the works council agree on its content.

When considering which law and which principle now applies to the individual employee, it is not uncommon for confusion to arise. The question often arises as to which legal source can be used. Does my own employment contract, the collective bargaining agreement or the company agreement apply to me? The general rule is that the employment contract and collective agreement normally take precedence. However, the favorability principle must be observed. This simply means that the regulation that is more advantageous for the employee is used. 

If a works agreement exists, it does not have to be explicitly mentioned in the employment contract, but it still applies. Likewise, the employee does not necessarily have to know about or be aware of the works agreement in order for it to apply to his or her employment relationship. The mere existence of such an agreement is sufficient.

The implementation of the concluded and valid works agreement is then the responsibility of the employer and only the employer. The works council is not authorized to interfere in the management of the company. However, if the employer does not comply with a works agreement or does not implement it, the works council may initiate a labor court resolution procedure, which will then force the employer to implement it.

Have you been terminated or received a severance agreement from your employer?

Then contact us

+49 (0) 2273 - 40 68 504

info@kanzlei-baumfalk.de

Law firm for labor law in Kerpen, Cologne and Witten

Lawyer for - Labor Law | Criminal Law | IT Law | Data Protection

Die Betriebsvereinbarung im Arbeitsrecht

Rechtsanwaltskanzlei für Arbeitsrecht in Kerpen, Köln und Witten

Arbeitsrecht | Starker Partner für Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitgeber

Die Betriebsvereinbarung

Rechtsanwaltskanzlei BAUMFALK in Kerpen-Horrem und Witten

Anwalt für - Arbeitsrecht | Strafrecht | IT-Recht | Datenschutz

Betriebsvereinbarung, Die Betriebsvereinbarung im Arbeitsrecht, Betriebsvereinbarung Arbeitsrecht, Betriebsvereinbarung Anwalt, Betriebsvereinbarung im Arbeitsrecht, Betriebsvereinbarung Rechtsanwalt, Anwalt Arbeitsrecht Kerpen, Anwalt Arbeitsrecht Köln, Anwalt Arbeitsrecht Witten

Die gesetzliche Grundlage für eine Betriebsvereinbarung ergibt sich aus § 77 BetrVG. Eine Betriebsvereinbarung ist eine Vereinbarung zwischen dem Arbeitgeber und dem Betriebsrat. Die Betriebsvereinbarung regelt hierbei Rechte und Pflichten für die Arbeitnehmer, den Arbeitgeber oder den Betriebsrat des Betriebes. Im öffentlichen Dienst gibt es keine Betriebsvereinbarungen, sondern sogenannte Dienstvereinbarungen, die zwischen Personalrat und Dienstelle geschlossen wird. Sollte es mehrere Betriebsräte innerhalb eines Unternehmens geben, so muss ein Gesamtbetriebsrat aus diesen mehreren Betriebsräten gegründet werden. 

Dieser setzt sich aus ein bis zwei Mitgliedern eines jeden Einzelbetriebsrates zusammen. Dabei ist der Gesamtbetriebsrat den Einzelbetriebsräten allerdings nicht übergeordnet. Bei Mutter- und Tochterfirmen kann in einem solchen Fall ein Konzernbetriebsrat gegründet werden, welcher dann für den gesamten Konzern die Beschlüsse und dann eben auch die Betriebs- oder Konzernvereinbarungen beschließt.

Die Betriebsvereinbarung muss hierbei schriftlich vorliegen und von beiden Parteien unterzeichnet sein. Normalerweise regeln Betriebsvereinbarungen beispielsweise die Kleiderordnung, Rauchverbote, Arbeitszeitmodelle oder aber auch Urlaub und Arbeitsschutz. Im Rahmen einer Betriebsvereinbarung kann allerdings nicht alles geregelt werden. Weitere oder zusätzliche Regelungen, die im Normalfall bereits durch einen Tarifvertrag geschlossen wurden, sind nicht rechtens. Anders ist dies nur, wenn der Tarifvertrag die Regelung per Betriebsvereinbarung explizit zulässt. Genannt wird diese Klausel innerhalb des Tarifvertrages auch Öffnungsklausel. Die Regelungsbefugnis der Betriebsvereinbarung ist somit in der Reichweite beschränkt, wirkt aber unmittelbar und mit Zwang.

Die geschlossene Vereinbarung muss durch den Arbeitgeber bekannt gemacht werden. Hierzu reicht es bereits aus, wenn die Betriebsvereinbarung an einer geeigneten Stell im Betrieb ausgelegt oder aufgehangen worden ist. Die Wirkung einer Betriebsvereinbarung ist in seiner Form unbefristet. Sie kann jedoch mit einer regulären Frist von 3 Monaten gekündigt oder aber durch eine neue ersetzt werden. Beendet werden kann eine Betriebsvereinbarung allerdings auch automatisch durch Befristung, eine Aufhebungsvereinbarung zwischen den Betriebsparteien, das Ende des Betriebsrates (sofern die Betriebsvereinbarung an diesen gebunden wurde), die Insolvenz des Betriebes, oder aber durch einen Betriebsübergang. Eine Teilkündigung der Betriebsvereinbarung ist hierbei nicht möglich. Eine Betriebsvereinbarung kann in ihrem Regelungsgehalt daher nur vollständig oder gar nicht gültig sein. 

Ausnahmen zu dieser allgemeinen Regelung gibt es nur, wenn der Arbeitgeber und der Betriebsrat sich innerhalb der Betriebsvereinbarung auf eine mögliche Teilkündigung verständigt haben. Allerdings ist die Teilkündigung der Vereinbarung nur dann möglich, wenn der weiterhin bestehende Teil allein und für sich sinnig ist und eine geschlossene Regelung darstellt. Sollte eine Betriebsvereinbarung gekündigt worden sein, wirkt diese aber gemäß § 77 VI BetrVG nach. Das bedeutet, dass die gekündigte Betriebsvereinbarung so lange weiterhin bestehen bleibt, bis es eine neue Regelung zwischen Betriebsrat und Arbeitgeber gibt. Dies gilt allerdings auch nur für Betriebsvereinbarungen, bei der ein Spruch der Einigungsstelle die Regelung zwischen Arbeitgeber und Betriebsrat ersetzen könnte.

Sinnig ist eine Betriebsvereinbarung dann, wenn der Arbeitgeber eine Regelung treffen möchte, die in der Regel die positive Zustimmung des Betriebsrates benötigt. Geht es im Gegensatz um mitbestimmungspflichtige Angelegenheiten des Betriebsrates, kann dieser sogar durch sein Initiativrecht Maßnahmen selbst anstoßen.

Der Geltungsbereich einer Betriebsvereinbarung gilt hierbei für fast alle Mitarbeiter des Betriebes. Die geschlossenen Vereinbarungen gelten auch für Arbeitnehmer, die erst nach dem Abschluss einer Betriebsvereinbarung in den Betrieb eintreten. Somit hat die Betriebsvereinbarung eine Wirkung für alle zukünftigen Arbeitnehmer. Eine Betriebsvereinbarung gilt allerdings nicht für Personen die unter den § 5 Absatz 2, 3 und 4 des BetrVG fallen. Diese werden von den Regelungen einer Betriebsvereinbarung nicht erfasst. Hierzu zählen beispielsweise gesetzliche Vertreter oder ein Mitglied eines Organs bzw. Leitende Angestellte nach Arbeitsvertrag des Betriebes.

Grundlegend muss bei Betriebsvereinbarungen zwischen zwei Arten unterschieden werden. Erste von beiden ist die erzwingbare Betriebsvereinbarung. Bei diesem hat der Betriebsrat wie bereits erwähnt ein eigenes Mitbestimmungsrecht. Sollte sich der Arbeitgeber zum Erlass einer Betriebsvereinbarung weigern, so kann der Betriebsrat nach § 87 BetrVG die Einigungsstelle anrufen. Der am Ende erlassene Spruch der Einigungsstelle ersetzt die Einigung zwischen Arbeitgeber und Betriebsrat. 

Auf diese Weise kann der Arbeitgeber also zum Erlass gezwungen werden. Zweite Art der Betriebsvereinbarung ist die freiwillige Betriebsvereinbarung. Bei diesen Vereinbarungen wird all das geregelt, wo der Betriebsrat kein Mitbestimmungsrecht hat. Der § 88 BetrVG ist dabei nicht abschließend und es werden nur Themenvorschläge unterbreitet. Im Ergebnis kann auf diese Weise also auch nur eine Betriebsvereinbarung zustande kommen, wenn der Arbeitgeber und der Betriebsrat sich einig über deren Inhalt sind.

Bei der Betrachtung, welches Recht und welcher Grundsatz für den einzelnen Arbeitnehmer nun gilt, kann es nicht selten zur Verwirrung kommen. Hierbei stellt sich öfters die Frage, welche Rechtsquelle nun genutzt werden kann. Gilt der eigene Arbeitsvertrag, der Tarifvertrag oder die Betriebsvereinbarung für mich? Allgemein gilt die Regel, dass der Arbeitsvertrag und Tarifvertrag normalerweise Vorrang haben. Es muss allerdings das Günstigkeitsprinzip beachtet werden. Dieses besagt ganz simpel, dass jene Regelung genutzt wird, die für den Arbeitnehmer vorteilhafter ist. 

Sollte eine Betriebsvereinbarung bestehen, muss diese auch nicht explizit im Arbeitsvertrag genannt werden, findet aber dennoch Anwendung. Ebenso muss der Arbeitnehmer nicht zwingend von der Betriebsvereinbarung wissen oder sie kennen, damit sie auf sein Arbeitsverhältnis angewendet werden kann und darf. Das alleinige Bestehen dieser reicht dann schon vollkommen aus.

Die Durchführung der geschlossenen und gültigen Betriebsvereinbarung obliegt dann dem Arbeitgeber und nur diesem. Der Betriebsrat ist nicht befugt, sich in die Leitung des Betriebes einzumischen. Er kann indessen, sollte der Arbeitgeber sich nicht an eine Betriebsvereinbarung halten oder sie durchführen, ein arbeitsgerichtliches Beschlussverfahren durchführen lassen, welcher den Arbeitgeber dann zur Umsetzung zwingt.

Sie wurden gekündigt oder haben einen Aufhebungsvertrag von Ihrem Arbeitgeber erhalten?

Dann kontaktieren Sie uns

+49 (0) 2273 - 40 68 504

info@kanzlei-baumfalk.de

Rechtsanwaltskanzlei für Arbeitsrecht in Kerpen, Köln und Witten

Anwalt für - Arbeitsrecht | Strafrecht | IT-Recht | Datenschutz