The company practice in labor law

Law firm for labor law in Kerpen, Cologne and Witten

Labor law | Strong partner for employees and employers

The company practice

Law firm for labor law in Kerpen, Cologne and Witten

Lawyer for - Labor Law | Criminal Law | IT Law | Data Protection

company practice, company practice in labor law, the company practice in labor law, company practice labor law, company practice labor law lawyer

A company practice is understood to be the voluntary, repeated action of the employer without an explicit reservation. For example, an employee's entitlement to the granting of benefits by the employer, which have not been explicitly stipulated in the employment contract, can be justified by the company practice. Recognition of the company practice under customary law is also applicable. Among other things, it is conceivable that an entitlement to a Christmas bonus or vacation pay can arise. The reason for the company practice is that one would like to conclude from the previous behavior of the employer that he would also like to commit himself to this service or his behavior in the future. 

As already mentioned in the article on on-call duty, the company practice also applies there. In general, the company practice is therefore not limited to a specific field of action of the employer. However, the employer's actions would have to have existed for at least three years, whereby it is important that this was also continued without interruption. Only then does case law apply the company practice.

Through the company practice, the employer has made the "objective fact" of a binding promise to the employees or the employee may then rely on the continuation of the employer's action. Only in this way does this also have the effect of establishing a claim for the future. However, it also remains to be examined whether the employer performs the service for more than just a small group or even individuals. Thus, in order to be entitled to the application of the company practice, the employer must provide the benefit at least to a definable group of employees or to a numerically superior part.

It should be noted, however, that the employer did not run the benefit under a reservation. Thus, the employer may always emphasize the voluntary nature of a benefit to its employees. A reservation is also to be assumed if the employer allows the benefit to take place "without recognition of a legal claim". Thus, the employer lacks an intention of obligation towards the employee and a company practice seems to be excluded. Another way in which the employer can ensure that a company practice does not take effect is to ensure that he does not regularly make the payment which could become a company practice. 

Thus, the requirement that a benefit must be offered for at least three years is missing. A fluctuating amount of the benefit is no longer a reason for not accepting a company practice. Until 2015, it was still possible to circumvent the company practice. This is now no longer possible. This has been decided by the Federal Labor Court and, conversely, it is no longer a matter of a constant level of remuneration. Since, in case of doubt, it can no longer be clearly and structurally stated how high the entitlement to such a payment really is as a result of the company practice, the employer is entitled to make a corresponding decision on the amount at its "reasonable discretion".

Other examples of company practice include the application of certain collective agreements in favor of employees, the granting of anniversary bonuses, the payment of meal allowances or travel allowances. But also the assumption of training costs or the provision of a parking space on the company premises. Even economically significant things such as a company pension plan can be based on the company practice, cf. § Section 1b I 4 BetrAVG.

If a company practice has arisen as a result of the preceding conditions, the employer cannot simply eliminate it again. There are actually only two ways for the employer to eliminate it. The employer can eliminate the company practice with the consent of the employee. This would be the mutually agreed cancellation of the company practice. The second option is to give notice of termination to the employee. It is no longer possible to eliminate a company practice by means of a so-called contrary company practice. 

In this case, the employer has simply added a note to the ongoing company practice from a certain point that he may amend the practice or eliminate the resulting legal claim. Thus, it would be possible for the employer to overturn the company practice from a certain point in time if the employees remain silent or if no objection is made. However, since March 2019, the Federal Labor Court no longer follows this possibility. Therefore, the employer can no longer make it as easy as originally thought.

The idea of whether the employer has a chance to challenge the company practice is not objectionable. However, it is problematic here that the company practice is based on a factual real behavior of the employer and not on an expressed declaration of intent. Therefore, the employee's trust in the future actions and payments of the employer can only be derived from the employer's actions. The condition of the § 119 Civil Codewhich would have to be present in order to be challenged, therefore do not do so.

Nevertheless, the real will of the employer is not completely irrelevant. Thus, it remains extremely important for the question whether a correct company practice has come into being. If the employer thus provides a service to which he himself thinks he is obligated, but which does not correspond to the truth at all, the employee can also recognize this or rather should have recognized it in good faith, he can act in bad faith and thus forfeit his trust in the future services. Bad faith is therefore someone who is not in good faith. This is particularly important in the case of company exercises in the public sector. Here, the employer is obliged to maintain an interest in economic efficiency. 

Thus, it is generally accepted that an employer in the public sector may, even according to objective opinion, only ever provide the service to which it also appears to be obligated under budgetary law. Therefore, an argumentation on the operational exercise without prior obligation is not necessarily promising. Similarly, a unilateral contradiction of the company practice by the employer is not sufficient. The possibility of revocation only exists if the employer has expressly left this open. In any case, this reservation of revocation must be expressed and declared unambiguously.

By means of a company practice, the employer normally enters into an obligation towards each individual employer. Therefore, this regulation cannot be easily averted by a works agreement. However, it remains questionable whether an existing company practice also applies to a new employee. An argument against this would be the employer's failure to perform towards the employee until then. 

Thus, the employer could terminate the company practice by unilateral declaration. And for precisely this reason, the company practice also has no effect for the new employee. However, out of a fundamental sense of fairness towards all employees, the latter could, on the basis of the general principle of equal treatment again give rise to a claim for itself under the AGG. In case of doubt, this is to be discussed within the individual case examination.

Operational exercise related to home office during Covid-19 pandemic.

Operational exercise in the home office

company practice, company practice in labor law, the company practice in labor law, company practice labor law, company practice labor law lawyer

In everyday working life, the employee has a usual place of work at which he performs his work. This can either be regulated by the employment contract itself or by the employer's right to issue instructions. If the place has been fixed by the contract, it can be adjusted by a transfer clause in the employment contract. With regard to the Covid-19 pandemic, an operational practice is problematic for the Home Office of an employee. So again it depends on the timing of the whole thing. If the Home Office already granted prior to the pandemic and if the company practice has reached a term of approximately three years during the pandemic, it could be assumed that a practice has arisen. 

It is important to emphasize here the regulation that was already in place BEFORE Covid-19 on the Home Office. A company practice and thus also the employee's entitlement to the Home Office is therefore excluded, provided that it is clearly recognizable that this workplace was ordered because of and only during the pandemic. In the case in dispute, it must therefore unfortunately be assumed that the regulation concerning the workplace in the Home Office was limited to the pandemic and negates an operational practice.

Do you need a lawyer in labor law?

Then contact us

+49 (0) 2273 - 40 68 504

info@kanzlei-baumfalk.de

Law firm for labor law in Kerpen, Cologne and Witten

Lawyer for - Labor Law | Criminal Law | IT Law | Data Protection

Die betriebliche Übung im Arbeitsrecht

Rechtsanwaltskanzlei für Arbeitsrecht in Kerpen, Köln und Witten

Arbeitsrecht | Starker Partner für Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitgeber

Die betriebliche Übung

Rechtsanwaltskanzlei für Arbeitsrecht in Kerpen, Köln und Witten

Anwalt für - Arbeitsrecht | Strafrecht | IT-Recht | Datenschutz

betriebliche Übung, betriebliche Übung im Arbeitsrecht, die betriebliche Übung im Arbeitsrecht, betriebliche Übung Arbneitsrecht, betriebliche Übung Arbeitsrecht Anwalt

Unter einer betrieblichen Übung versteht man das freiwillige, wiederholte Handeln des Arbeitgebers ohne einen expliziten Vorbehalt. So kann zum Beispiel ein Anspruch des Arbeitnehmers auf Gewährung von Leistungen durch den Arbeitgeber, welche explizit nicht im Arbeitsvertrag festgehalten worden sind, durch die betriebliche Übung begründet werden. Eine gewohnheitsrechtliche Anerkennung der betrieblichen Übung findet ebenso Anwendung. Unter anderem ist es so denkbar, dass ein Anspruch auf Weihnachtsgeld oder auch Urlaubsgeld entstehen kann. Grund für die betriebliche Übung ist jener, dass man aus dem bisherigen Verhalten des Arbeitgebers darauf schließen möchte, dass dieser sich auch in der Zukunft entsprechend zu dieser Leistung oder seinem Verhalten verpflichten möchte. 

Wie bereits in dem Artikel über den Bereitschaftsdienst erwähnt, findet die betriebliche Übung auch dort ihre Anwendung. Generell ist die betriebliche Übung also nicht auf ein bestimmtes Handlungsfeld des Arbeitgebers beschränkt. Das Handeln des Arbeitgebers müsste allerdings für mindestens drei Jahre vorgelegen haben, wobei wichtig ist, dass dies auch ununterbrochen fortgeführt wurde. Nämlich erst dann wird von der Rechtsprechung die betriebliche Übung angewendet.

Durch die betriebliche Übung hat der Arbeitgeber den „objektiven Tatbestand“ einer verbindlichen Zusage gegenüber den Arbeitnehmern getroffen bzw. der Arbeitnehmer darf dann auf die Fortsetzung der Handlung des Arbeitgebers vertrauen. Erst dadurch wirkt dieser auch für Zukunft anspruchsbegründend. Zu prüfen bleibt aber auch, ob der Arbeitgeber die Leistung nicht nur einer kleinen Gruppe oder gar Einzelpersonen gegenüber vollzieht. So muss der Arbeitgeber zum Anspruch auf Anwendung der betrieblichen Übung die Leistung mindestens einer abgrenzbaren Gruppe von Arbeitnehmern oder einem zahlenmäßig doch überlegenen Teil.

Zu beachten ist indes, dass der Arbeitgeber die Leistung nicht unter einem Vorbehalt hat laufen lassen. So darf der Arbeitgeber eine Leistung gegenüber seinen Arbeitnehmern immer die Freiwilligkeit der Leistung betonen. Ein Vorbehalt ist auch dann anzunehmen, wenn der Arbeitgeber die Leistung „ohne Anerkennung eines Rechtsanspruchs“ erfolgen lässt. Somit fehlt es dem Arbeitgeber an einem Verpflichtungswillen gegenüber dem Arbeitnehmer und eine betriebliche Übung scheint ausgeschlossen. Eine andere Weise, wie der Arbeitgeber sicherstellen kann, dass eine betriebliche Übung nicht zum Greifen kommt ist, dass er darauf achtet die Leistung, welche zur betrieblichen Übung werden könnte, nicht regelmäßig leistet. 

Somit fehlt an der Voraussetzung, dass eine Leistung mindestens drei Jahre angeboten werden muss. Kein Grund mehr dafür, eine betriebliche Übung nicht anzunehmen, ist eine schwankende Höhe der Leistung. So war es bis 2015 noch möglich, die betriebliche Übung zu umgehen. Das ist jetzt nicht mehr möglich. Dies hat das Bundesarbeitsgericht entschieden und es kommt im Umkehrschluss nicht mehr auf eine gleichbleibende Höhe der Vergütung an. Da im Zweifel nicht mehr klar und strukturiert gesagt werden kann, wie hoch der Anspruch auf eine solche Zahlung durch die betriebliche Übung wirklich ist, steht dem Arbeitgeber nach „billigem Ermessen“ zu, über die Höhe eine entsprechende Entscheidung zu treffen.

Andere Beispiele der betrieblichen Übung sind unter anderem die Anwendung bestimmter Tarifverträge zugunsten der Arbeitnehmer, die Gewährung von Jubiläumszuwendungen, die Zahlung von Essensgeld- oder Fahrtkostenzuschüssen. Aber auch die Übernahme von Fortbildungskosten oder die Bereitstellung eines Parkplatzes auf dem Firmengelände. Sogar wirtschaftlich bedeutsame Dinge wie eine betriebliche Altersvorsorge können auf die betriebliche Übung gestützt werden, vergleiche dazu § 1b I 4 BetrAVG.

Sollte eine betriebliche Übung durch die vorangegangenen Voraussetzungen entstanden sein, so kann der Arbeitgeber diese nicht so einfach wieder beseitigen. Dem Arbeitgeber bleiben hierzu eigentlich nur zwei Arten der Beseitigung offen. So kann der Arbeitgeber die betriebliche Übung mit dem Einverständnis des Arbeitnehmers beseitigen. Dies wäre die einvernehmliche Aufhebung der betrieblichen Übung. Zweite Möglichkeit ist es, eine Änderungskündigung gegenüber dem Arbeitnehmer auszusprechen. Nicht mehr möglich ist die Beseitigung einer betrieblichen Übung durch eine sogenannte gegenläufige betriebliche Übung. 

Hierbei hat der Arbeitgeber der laufenden betrieblichen Übung einfach ab einem gewissen Punkt den Hinweis hinzugefügt, dass er die Übung abändern oder den daraus folgenden Rechtsanspruch beseitigen mag. Somit wäre es dem Arbeitgeber möglich, bei einem Stillschweigen der Arbeitnehmer oder einem nicht erfolgten Widerspruch die betriebliche Übung ab einem gewissen Zeitpunkt zu kippen. Dieser Möglichkeit folgt das Bundesarbeitsgericht seit dem März 2019 allerdings nicht mehr. Daher kann es sich der Arbeitgeber nicht mehr so leicht machen wie ursprünglich gedacht.

Nicht verwerflich ist der Gedanke, ob dem Arbeitgeber eine Chance verbleibt, die betriebliche Übung anzufechten. Problematisch ist hierbei jedoch, dass die betriebliche Übung auf einem faktischen wirklichen Verhalten des Arbeitgebers beruht und nicht auf einer geäußerten Willenserklärung. Nur aus der Handlung des Arbeitgebers heraus folgt daher ein hervorgerufenes Vertrauen des Arbeitnehmers auf die zukünftig folgenden Handlungen und Zahlungen des Arbeitgebers. Die Voraussetzung des § 119 Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch, die zur Anfechtung vorliegen müssten, tun dies somit nicht.

Trotzdem ist der wirkliche Wille des Arbeitgeber nicht vollständig irrelevant. So bleibt er zur Frage überaus wichtig, ob eine richtige betriebliche Übung zustande gekommen ist. Wenn der Arbeitgeber somit eine Leistung erbringt, wozu er selbst denkt verpflichtet zu sein, was allerdings gar nicht der Wahrheit entspricht, dies der Arbeitnehmer auch erkennen kann oder vielmehr nach Treu und Glauben hätte erkennen müssen, kann er bösgläubig wirken und sein Vertrauen auf die zukünftigen Leistungen damit verwirken. Bösgläubig ist daher jemand der nicht gutgläubig ist. Besonders wichtig ist dies bei betrieblichen Übungen im öffentlichen Dienst. Hier ist der Arbeitgeber dazu verpflichtet, ein Interesse an die Wirtschaftlichkeit zu wahren. 

Somit ist allgemein anerkannt, dass ein Arbeitgeber im öffentlichen Dienst auch nach objektiver Meinung immer nur die Leistung erbringen mag, zu der er auch nach der haushaltsrechtlichen Pflicht verpflichtet scheint. Daher ist eine Argumentation zur betrieblichen Übung ohne vorherige Verpflichtung nicht zwingend vielversprechend. Ebenso genügt ein einseitiger Widerspruch der betrieblichen Übung durch den Arbeitgeber nicht. Die Möglichkeit zum Widerruf besteht nur, sofern der Arbeitgeber sich diese auch ausdrücklich offen gelassen hat. Dieser Widerrufsvorbehalt ist auf jeden Fall unmissverständlich auszudrücken und zu erklären.

Durch eine betriebliche Übung geht der Arbeitgeber im Normalfall eine Verpflichtung gegenüber jedem einzelnen Arbeitgeber ein. Diese Regelung ist somit auch nicht durch eine Betriebsvereinbarung so einfach abzuwenden. Fraglich bleibt indessen, ob eine bestehende betriebliche Übung auch einem neuen Mitarbeiter gegenüber gilt. Ein Argument dagegen wäre die bis dahin nicht erfolgte Leistung des Arbeitgebers dem Arbeitnehmer gegenüber. 

So könnte der Arbeitgeber die betriebliche Übung durch einseitige Erklärung beenden. Und aus genau diesem Grund hat für den neuen Arbeitnehmer die betriebliche Übung auch keine Wirkung. Aus dem grundlegenden Gefühl für Fairness allen Arbeitnehmern gegenüber könnte dieser aber aufgrund des allgemeinen Gleichbehandlungsgrundsatzes nach dem AGG wieder einen Anspruch für sich begründen. Dies ist im Zweifel innerhalb der Einzelfallprüfung zu erörtern.

Betriebliche Übung in Bezug auf Homeoffice während der Covid-19 Pandemie

Betriebliche Übung im Homeoffice

betriebliche Übung, betriebliche Übung im Arbeitsrecht, die betriebliche Übung im Arbeitsrecht, betriebliche Übung Arbneitsrecht, betriebliche Übung Arbeitsrecht Anwalt

Im beruflichen Alltag hat der Arbeitnehmer eine übliche Arbeitsstätte, an der er seiner Arbeit nachkommt. Diese kann entweder durch den Arbeitsvertrag selbst reguliert werden oder aber durch das Weisungsrecht des Arbeitgebers. Sollte der Ort durch den Vertrag festgehalten worden sein, kann dieser durch eine arbeitsvertragliche Versetzungsklausel angepasst werden. Problematisch ist in Bezug auf die Covid-19 Pandemie eine betriebliche Übung für das Homeoffice eines Arbeitnehmers. So kommt es auch hier wieder auf die zeitliche Gestaltung des Ganzen an. Wurde das Homeoffice bereits vor der Pandemie gewährt und hat während dieser die betriebliche Übung eine Laufzeit von ca. drei Jahren erreicht, könnte man das Entstehen einer Übung annehmen. 

Wichtig ist hier die Betonung auf die bereits VOR Covid-19 vorliegende Regelung zum Homeoffice. Eine betriebliche Übung und damit auch der Anspruch des Arbeitnehmers auf das Homeoffice ist daher ausgeschlossen, sofern es deutlich erkennbar ist, dass dieser Arbeitsplatz wegen und nur während der Pandemie angeordnet wurde. Im Streitfall ist also leider anzunehmen, dass die Regelung bezüglich des Arbeitsplatzes im Homeoffice auf die Pandemie beschränkt wurde und eine betriebliche Übung verneinen lässt.

Sie benötigen einen Rechtsanwalt im Arbeitsrecht?

Dann kontaktieren Sie uns

+49 (0) 2273 - 40 68 504

info@kanzlei-baumfalk.de

Rechtsanwaltskanzlei für Arbeitsrecht in Kerpen, Köln und Witten

Anwalt für - Arbeitsrecht | Strafrecht | IT-Recht | Datenschutz