Termination in labor law

Law firm for labor law in Kerpen, Cologne and Witten

Labor law | Strong partner for employees and employers

Termination of the employment contract / employment agreement

Law firm for labor law in Kerpen, Cologne and Witten

Lawyer for - Labor Law | Criminal Law | IT Law | Data Protection

Have you received a letter of dismissal from your employer or has your employer issued such a letter to you as an employee? In the following article, we will explain the conditions under which the Dismissal Protection Act (KSchG) and whether the notice of termination states that the Notice period is correct. What the employee should pay attention to in detail, why the employee should take further legal action within 21 days of receiving the notice of termination, and why the employee's claims are extinguished after the expiration of this preclusion period.

What is a termination?

Definition of termination under German labor law

Termination of employment is a unilateral decision of a contractual partner, the employer, to terminate the employment relationship with the employee. In principle, in the event of a notice of termination given by the employer to the employee, the employee is always entitled to a Legal action against dismissal can take action against it. If, in the course of the proceedings for protection against dismissal, it is found that the dismissal may be invalid or socially unjustified, the employer is obliged to continue to employ the employee.

However, since in most cases neither party, employer as well as employee, is interested in a solution in the form of the Continued employment are interested, in most cases an agreement is reached in the form of payment of a Severance pay concluded by the employer to the employee. This is considered monetary compensation from the employer to the employee for the loss of the job.

However, a clear distinction is made between the terms "ordinary termination", which refers to the termination of an employee's employment within the statutory period of notice. Notice period provides for, and the extraordinary terminationalso known as termination without notice, which dissolves / terminates the employment relationship with immediate effect. The employee is therefore well advised in such a case, a specialized in labor law Lawyer to the side in order to check the validity of his notice received for any formal errors on the part of the employer and his legal claim.

What must a notice of termination contain?

Formal requirements of a notice of termination

Cancellation

First of all, an employee's notice of termination must contain the employee's personal data in terms of form, i.e. first name, last name, address, postal code and place of residence. In addition, it requires an explicit, written will to terminate the employment relationship by the employer. 

Should it be extraordinary terminationIf you wish to terminate the contract without notice, it is absolutely necessary that the specific reason for termination is described / included in the notice.

Furthermore, an instruction to the terminated employee regarding reporting to the Federal Employment Agency must not be missing, as otherwise, in the worst case, the employee may miss out on receiving unemployment benefits.

There must be an original signature of the employer at the end of the notice of termination, otherwise it may also be interpreted as invalid.

What is ordinary termination?

Definition of ordinary termination in labor law

If the employer issues an ordinary notice of termination to the employee, it can no longer be doubted that the employer wishes to part / disengage from the employee for good. However, there are also a number of things for the employer to consider in this case. On the one hand, contractually agreed or statutory periods of notice On the other hand, the employer must also have a justified reason to give notice of termination to the employee. 

In any case, upon receipt of a notice of termination or the employee's own desire to terminate the employment relationship between him and the employer, the employee is best placed to seek advice in this regard from a specialist in labor law. Lawyer advice. Under certain circumstances, a Termination agreement represent another possibility for solving this problem.

What are the forms of termination?

Different types of termination

  • Termination for operational reasons:
    The prerequisites for a termination for operational reasons or a termination for operational reasons are so-called "urgent operational requirements". These can be, for example, the unforeseen loss of a major customer, a fundamental lack of orders, the closure of a plant or a decline in sales.
  • Termination for personal reasons:
    A dismissal due to personal reasons, often also a dismissal due to illness, is usually given by the employer to the employee if the reasons lie in the person, i.e. the employee can no longer provide the performance agreed with the employer due to illness, chronic illness or, for example, withdrawal of the driver's license. In addition, in this case, continued employment at another workplace within the company must not be possible.
  • The behavioral dismissal:
    A termination for behavioral reasons is pronounced by the employer against the employee if the employee has deliberately, i.e. knowingly, violated one of his duties under the employment contract, i.e. for example has committed theft at the workplace or has refused to work towards the employer. However, in order to issue a termination for behavioral reasons to the employee, there must be at least one warning in the personnel file.

What is extraordinary termination / termination without notice?

Definition of extraordinary termination / termination without notice

Cancellation

The extraordinary termination / Termination without notice is exactly the opposite of the so-called ordinary termination. This form of termination by the employer terminates the employment relationship with the employee with immediate effect. However, it should be noted that the reason for extraordinary termination of an employee must be a circumstance to be classified as "unreasonable" for the employer, so that the employer "can" no longer adhere to the employment contract.

On what grounds can the employer issue an extraordinary termination / termination without notice?

Reasons for extraordinary termination / termination without notice

In order for an employer to terminate an employee without notice, a number of conditions must first be met. These are as follows:

  • Termination for cause:
    For example, sexual harassment of a co-worker or theft at work
  • Warning, affirmation of termination for conduct:
    Since it is in most cases of the extraordinary / If the termination without notice is a termination due to conduct/indicated conduct, the employer should at least have warned the employee in advance with regard to the reason for termination in the sense of the "ultima ratio". This reinforces the fact that the employer has no milder means at its disposal than the extraordinary / termination without notice, as he had already given the employee the chance to improve in the form of a warning or an indicative, clarifying conversation.
  • The 2 weeks deadline:
    The employer is obliged to terminate the employee within 2 weeks after becoming aware of the "violation" of the employee. If the notice of termination is given at a later point in time, it can only be given in the form of ordinary notice of termination.

What exactly is a warning?

Definition warning

The warning is a proven means for the employer to give an employer due to error behavior at the workplace or non-compliance with agreed contractual content, effectively, the opportunity to improve or cease and desist with regard to behavior violations. If the employer wishes to terminate an employee due to repeated or recurring misconduct in the workplace, it is sufficient if the employer has issued a warning to the employee. It does not apply, as is popularly known, that an employer cannot terminate an employee as long as the employee has not been warned three times. It is also possible to terminate an employee without having previously issued a warning, although this is not always straightforward.

Statutory notice periods in employment law

What periods of notice apply in employment law?

According to the legal standards of the German labor law, employees always have the possibility to terminate their employment with a notice period of 4 weeks to the 15th or end of the calendar month. In most employment contracts, however, this is defined much longer, which is also legal, but not shorter. However, the employer is obliged to adhere to much longer legal notice periods. Notice periods These may be extended by a considerable amount if the employee remains with the company for a longer period.

What does the exemption after receiving a notice of termination mean?

Definition of exemption after termination

Cancellation

The term "leave of absence" in the event of termination of the employment relationship by the employer means for the employee that he/she no longer has to appear for work until the termination date of his/her employment relationship. However, the employment relationship shall continue until the termination date described / contained in the notice of termination, i.e. for the employee that he/she shall also continuously receive his/her salary for this period.

However, a distinction is also made here between two different forms of release. The revocable exemption and the irrevocable exemption after termination of the employee. In the case of revocable leave of absence, the employee must always bear in mind that the employer can order the employee to return to work at any time, which is of course excluded in the case of irrevocable leave of absence. However, any vacation not taken by the employee may be added to the aforementioned period. In practice, this is often forgotten.

Special scenarios in relation to a termination

Termination after parental leave

Employees who take parental leave enjoy a Special protection against dismissal. However, once the parental leave is over, the Special protection against dismissali.e. the termination of the employment relationship by the employer is from this point on no longer as difficult as during the parental leave. From this point on, the employee is thus exempt from the regular requirements of the Protection against dismissal affected. This means that the employee must also take action against the exclusion period within 21 days, otherwise the employee's claim against the employer will expire.

Dismissal as severely disabled person

Severely disabled employees are likewise protected by a Special protection against dismissal The severely disabled employee is protected from a "simple" termination of the employment relationship, since the employer must first obtain the approval of the pension office in order to terminate the employment relationship. Otherwise, a termination of a severely disabled employee is not legally effective!

Termination during the probationary period

Unfortunately, termination of an employee within the probationary period does not mean anything good for the employee, since in this case the Dismissal Protection Act (KSchG) only takes effect after the end of the probationary period. Only after the end of the probationary period is it obligatory for the employer to justify the dismissal of an employee or to give reasons for it. Thus, in the event of termination during the probationary period, there is unfortunately no great hope of success for the employee.

Have you been terminated or received a severance agreement from your employer?

Then contact us

+49 (0) 2273 - 40 68 504

info@kanzlei-baumfalk.de

Law firm for labor law in Kerpen, Cologne and Witten

Lawyer for - Labor Law | Criminal Law | IT Law | Data Protection

Kündigung im Arbeitsrecht

Rechtsanwaltskanzlei für Arbeitsrecht in Kerpen, Köln und Witten

Arbeitsrecht | Starker Partner für Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitgeber

Kündigung des Anstellungsvertrags / Arbeitsvertrags

Rechtsanwaltskanzlei für Arbeitsrecht in Kerpen, Köln und Witten

Anwalt für - Arbeitsrecht | Strafrecht | IT-Recht | Datenschutz

Sie haben von Ihrem Arbeitgeber ein Kündigungsschreiben vorgelegt bekommen bzw. dieser hat Ihnen als Arbeitnehmer eine solche gegenüber ausgesprochen? Wir erklären Ihnen in dem nachfolgenden Artikel unter welchen Bedingungen das Kündigungsschutzgesetz (KSchG) greift und ob die in der Kündigung genannte Kündigungsfrist korrekt ist. Worauf der Arbeitnehmer im Detail achten sollte, weshalb dieser innerhalb von 21 Tagen nach Erhalt der Kündigung bezüglich weiterer rechtlicher Schritte tätig werden sollte und warum nach Ablauf dieser Ausschlussfrist seine Ansprüche erloschen sind.

Was ist eine Kündigung?

Definition der Kündigung nach deutschem Arbeitsrecht

Eine Kündigung im Arbeitsrecht stellt eine einseitige Entscheidung eines Vertragspartners, dem Arbeitgeber, dem Arbeitnehmer gegenüber das Arbeitsverhältnis zu beenden. Grundsätzlich gilt dass der Arbeitnehmer im Falle einer Kündigung, welche durch den Arbeitgeber ihm gegenüber ausgesprochen wurde, immer mit einer Kündigungsschutzklage gegen diese vorgehen kann. Sollte sich im Rahmen des Kündigungsschutzverfahrens nämlich herausstellen, dass die Kündigung unter Umständen als unwirksam oder sozial ungerechtfertigt anzusehen ist, ist der Arbeitgeber dazu verpflichtet diesen weiterhin zu beschäftigen.

Da jedoch in den meisten Fällen keine der beiden Parteien, Arbeitgeber sowie Arbeitnehmer, an einer Lösung in Form der Weiterbeschäftigung interessiert sind, wird in den meisten Fällen eine Einigung in Form der Zahlung einer Abfindung vom Arbeitgeber an den Arbeitnehmer geschlossen. Diese gilt als monetäre Entschädigung des Arbeitgebers dem Arbeitnehmer gegenüber für den Verlust des Arbeitsplatzes.

Klar voneinander abgegrenzt werden hierbei allerdings die Termini der sogenannten ordentlichen Kündigung, welche die Kündigung des Arbeitnehmers innerhalb der gesetzlichen Kündigungsfrist vorsieht, und der außerordentlichen Kündigung, auch als fristlose Kündigung bekannt, die das Arbeitsverhältnis mit sofortiger Wirkung auflöst / beendet. Der Arbeitnehmer ist also gut darin beraten, sich in einem solchen Fall, einen auf Arbeitsrecht spezialisierten Rechtsanwalt zur Seite zu nehmen, um die Wirksamkeit seiner erhaltenen Kündigung auf etwaige Formfehler des Arbeitgebers und seinen rechtlichen Anspruch hin zu prüfen.

Was muss eine Kündigung beinhalten?

Formerfordernisse einer Kündigung

Kündigung

Zunächst muss eine Kündigung des Arbeitnehmers der Form her die persönlichen Daten des Arbeitnehmers enthalten, d.h. Vorname, Nachname, Adresse, Postleitzahl und Wohnort. Zudem bedarf es einem ausdrücklich, schriftlich formuliertem Willen zur Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses durch den Arbeitgeber. 

Sollte es sich um eine außerordentliche Kündigung, fristlose Kündigung handeln ist es absolut notwendig, dass in dieser der konkrete Kündigungsgrund beschrieben / enthalten ist.

Des Weiteren darf eine Behinweisung an den gekündigten Arbeitnehmer bezüglich des Meldens bei der Bundesagentur für Arbeit nicht fehlen, da es sonst im schlimmsten Fall für den Arbeitnehmer zu Versäumnissen bezüglich des Erhalts des Arbeitslosengeldes kommen kann.

Am Ende der Kündigung muss sich eine Original-Unterschrift des Arbeitgebers befinden, da sonst auch diese droht als unwirksam ausgelegt werden kann.

Was ist eine ordentliche Kündigung?

Definition einer ordentlichen Kündigung im Arbeitsrecht

Wird vom Arbeitgeber dem Arbeitnehmer gegenüber eine ordentliche Kündigung ausgesprochen, ist es nicht mehr anzuzweifeln, dass der Arbeitgeber sich von diesem endgültig trennen / lösen möchte. Allerdings gibt es auch für den Arbeitgeber in diesem Fall einiges zu beachten. Denn zum einen müssen hierbei vertraglich vereinbarte oder gesetzliche Kündigungsfristen beachtet werden, zum anderen muss der Arbeitgeber auch einen berechtigten Grund haben dem Arbeitnehmer eine Kündigung auszusprechen. 

In jedem Fall ist der Arbeitnehmer bei Erhalt einer Kündigung oder dem eigenen Wunsch das Arbeitsverhältnis zwischen ihm und dem Arbeitgeber zu beenden, am besten gestellt wenn er sich diesbezüglich von einem auf Arbeitsrecht spezialisierten Rechtsanwalt beraten lässt. Unter Umständen könnte auch ein Aufhebungsvertrag eine weitere Möglichkeit zur Lösung dieses Problems darstellen.

Welche Formen der Kündigung gibt es?

Unterschiedliche Arten der Kündigung

  • Die betriebsbedingte Kündigung:
    Die Voraussetzungen für eine betriebsbedingte Kündigung oder eine Kündigung aus betrieblichen Gründen sind sogenannte „dringende betriebliche Erfordernisse“. Diese können zum Beispiel der unvorhergesehene Wegfall eines Großkunden, ein grundsätzlicher Auftragsmangel, die Stillegung eines Betriebes oder ein Umsatzrückgang sein.
  • Die personenbedingte Kündigung:
    Eine personenbedingte Kündigung, oft auch krankheitsbedingte Kündigung, wird in der Regel vom Arbeitgeber dem Arbeitnehmer gegenüber ausgesprochen wenn die Gründe in der Person liegen, d.h. der Arbeitnehmer seine mit dem Arbeitgeber vereinbarte Leistung, durch Krankheit, chronische Erkrankung oder beispielsweise Führerscheinentzug nicht mehr erbringen kann. Außerdem muss in diesem Fall eine Weiterbeschäftigung an einem anderen Arbeitsplatz innerhalb des Unternehmens nicht möglich sein.
  • Die verhaltensbedingte Kündigung:
    Eine verhaltensbedingte Kündigung wird vom Arbeitgeber dem Arbeitnehmer gegenüber ausgesprochen, wenn der Arbeitnehmer bewusst, also wissentlich, gegen eine seiner Pflichten aus dem Arbeitsvertrag verstoßen hat, d.h. beispielsweise Diebstahl am Arbeitsplatz begangen hat oder dem Arbeitgeber gegenüber seine Arbeit verweigert hat. Um eine verhaltensbedingte Kündigung dem Arbeitnehmer gegenüber auszusprechen muss jedoch mindestens eine Abmahnung in der Personalakte vorliegen.

Was ist eine außerordentliche Kündigung / fristlose Kündigung?

Definition außerordentliche Kündigung / fristlose Kündigung

Kündigung

Die außerordentliche Kündigung / fristlose Kündigung stellt exakt das Gegenteil der sogenannten ordentlichen Kündigung dar. Diese Form der Kündigung beendet seitens des Arbeitgebers das Arbeitsverhältnis zu dem Arbeitnehmer mit sofortiger Wirkung. Jedoch ist hierbei zu beachten, dass der Grund einen Arbeitnehmer außerordentlich zu kündigen ein als für den Arbeitgeber als „unzumutbar“ einzustufender Sachverhalt sein muss, so dass der Arbeitgeber nicht mehr an dem Arbeitsvertrag festhalten „kann“.

Aus welchen Gründen kann der Arbeitgeber eine außerordentliche Kündigung / fristlose Kündigung aussprechen?

Gründe für außerordentliche Kündigung / fristlose Kündigung

Um als Arbeitgeber einen Arbeitnehmer außerordentlich / fristlos zu kündigen müssen zunächst einige Voraussetzungen gegeben sein. Diese lauten folgendermaßen:

  • Kündigung aus wichtigem Grund:
    Beispielsweise die sexuelle Belästigung einer Arbeitskollegin oder Diebstahl am Arbeitsplatz
  • Abmahnung, Bekräftigung der verhaltensbedingten Kündigung:
    Da es sich in den meisten Fällen der außerordentlichen / fristlosen Kündigung um eine verhaltensbedingte / verhaltensindizierte Kündigung handelt sollte der Arbeitgeber den Arbeitnehmer bezüglich des Kündigungsgrundes im Sinne der „Ultima ratio“ zumindest vorher abgemahnt haben. Dies bekräftigt die Tatsache, dass der Arbeitgeber kein milderes Mittel zur Verfügung stehen hat, als die außerordentliche / fristlose Kündigung, da er dem Arbeitnehmer bereits in Form einer Abmahnung oder einem hinweisenden, klärenden Gespräch die Chance zur Besserung gab.
  • Die 2 Wochen Frist:
    Der Arbeitgeber ist dazu verpflichtet den Arbeitnehmer innerhalb von 2 Wochen nach Kenntnisnahme des „Verstoßes“ des Arbeitnehmers diesen zu kündigen. Wird die Kündigung zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt ausgesprochen / vorgenommen, kann diese nur noch in der Form der ordentlichen Kündigung geschehen.

Was ist eine Abmahnung genau?

Definition Abmahnung

Die Abmahnung ist ein probates Mittel für den Arbeitgeber einem Arbeitgeber aufgrund von Fehlerverhalten am Arbeitsplatz oder Nichteinhaltung von vereinbarten Vertragsinhalten, wirksam, die Möglichkeit zur Verbesserung oder Unterlassung bezüglich Verhaltensverstöße zu geben. Möchte der Arbeitgeber einen Arbeitnehmer aufgrund von sich wiederholtem oder wiederholendem Fehlverhalten am Arbeitsplatz kündigen, so reicht es, wenn dieser dem Arbeitnehmer gegenüber eine Abmahnung ausgesprochen hat. Es gilt nicht, wie im Volksmunde bekannt, dass ein Arbeitgeber einen Arbeitnehmer nicht kündigen kann, solange dieser drei Mal nicht abgemahnt wurde. Auch eine Kündigung des Arbeitnehmers ohne vorher ausgesprochene Abmahnung ist  möglich, wenn auch nicht immer ganz einfach.

Gesetzliche Kündigungsfristen im Arbeitsrecht

Welche Kündigungsfristen gelten im Arbeitsrecht?

Arbeitnehmer haben nach den gesetzlichen Standards des deutschen Arbeitsrecht die Möglichkeit immer mit einer Frist von 4 Wochen zum 15. oder Ende des Kalendermonats ihr Arbeitsverhältnis zu kündigen. In den meisten Arbeitsverträgen ist diese jedoch weitaus länger definiert, was ebenfalls rechtmäßig ist, jedoch nicht kürzer. Der Arbeitgeber steht jedoch in der Pflicht sich an weitaus längere gesetzliche Kündigungsfristen zu halten, die sich mit unter durch eine längere Betriebszugehörigkeit des Arbeitnehmers um einiges verlängern können.

Was bedeutet die Freistellung nach Erhalt einer Kündigung?

Definition Freistellung nach Kündigung

Kündigung

Der Begriff der Freistellung bei einer Kündigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses durch den Arbeitgeber bedeutet für den Arbeitnehmer, dass dieser bis zum Beendigungsdatum seines Arbeitsverhältnisses nicht mehr zur Arbeit erscheinen muss. Das Arbeitsverhältnis bleibt jedoch bis zum in der Kündigung beschriebenen / enthaltenen Beendigungsdatum bestehen, d.h. für den Arbeitnehmer, dass dieser für diesen Zeitraum auch fortlaufend sein Gehalt ausbezahlt bekommt.

Jedoch wird auch hier zwischen zwei unterschiedlichen Formen der Freistellung unterschieden. Der widerruflichen Freistellung und der unwiderruflichen Freistellung nach Kündigung des Arbeitnehmers. Im Falle der widerruflichen Freistellung ist für den Arbeitnehmer stets zu beachten, dass der Arbeitgeber diesen jederzeit wieder die Ableistung seiner Arbeit anordnen kann, welches im Falle der unwiderruflichen Freistellung selbstredend ausgeschlossen sind. Etwaiger nicht genommener Urlaub des Arbeitnehmers kann jedoch zu dem genannten Zeitraum hinzugerechnet werden. In der Praxis wird dies oft vergessen.

Besondere Szenarien im Bezug auf eine Kündigung

Kündigung nach Elternzeit

Arbeitnehmer, die die Elternzeit in Anspruch nehmen, genießen einen Sonderkündigungsschutz. Ist die Elternzeit jedoch vorbei, erlischt der Sonderkündigungsschutz, d.h. die Kündigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses durch den Arbeitgeber ist von diesem Zeitpunkt an nicht mehr derart erschwert wie während der Elternzeit. Der Arbeitnehmer ist von diesem Zeitpunkt an also von den regulären Voraussetzungen des Kündigungsschutzes betroffen. D.h. auch dieser muss um die Ausschlussfrist zu wahren innerhalb von 21 Tagen gegen diese vorgehen, da sonst der Anspruch des Arbeitnehmers dem Arbeitgeber gegenüber erlischt.

Kündigung als Schwerbehinderter

Schwerbehinderte Arbeitnehmer sind ebenso durch einen Sonderkündigungsschutz vor einer „einfachen“ Kündigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses geschützt, da der Arbeitgeber um diesen zu kündigen zunächst eine Zustimmung des Versorgungsamtes einholen muss. Sonst ist eine Kündigung eines schwerbehinderten Arbeitnehmers nicht rechtswirksam!

Kündigung in der Probezeit

Eine Kündigung eines Arbeitnehmers innerhalb der Probezeit bedeutet leider nichts Gutes für den Arbeitnehmer, da in diesem Fall das Kündigungsschutzgesetz (KSchG) erst nach Ablauf der Probezeit greift. Erst nach Ablauf dieser wird es für den Arbeitgeber verpflichtend die Kündigung eines Arbeitnehmers zu rechtfertigen bzw. Gründe für diese zu nennen. Somit besteht im Falle einer Kündigung während der Probezeit für den Arbeitnehmer leider keine große Hoffnung auf Erfolg.

Sie wurden gekündigt oder haben einen Aufhebungsvertrag von Ihrem Arbeitgeber erhalten?

Dann kontaktieren Sie uns

+49 (0) 2273 - 40 68 504

info@kanzlei-baumfalk.de

Rechtsanwaltskanzlei für Arbeitsrecht in Kerpen, Köln und Witten

Anwalt für - Arbeitsrecht | Strafrecht | IT-Recht | Datenschutz