Petty labor law violations

Labor law for employers and employees

Petty labor law violations

Law office BAUMFALK in Kerpen-Horrem and Witten

Lawyer for - Labor Law | Criminal Law | IT Law | Data Protection

In general, petty offenses occur more frequently than expected. Basically, petty offenses are "small, insignificant things" or, to put it simply, "trifles. When one speaks of a petty offense, one means a very small penalty. A petty offense is therefore an offense that is not serious.

Petty labor law violations are also not uncommon. For example, stealing a roll as a bakery saleswoman or inserting a wrench as a car mechanic. On the other hand, it is not a petty offense for a federal police officer to fall asleep while on patrol, according to the Wiesbaden Administrative Court, since the activity performed is a core duty arising from his employment relationship. Thus, it is possible to think up an infinite number of different case constellations in which an employee commits a breach of duty within the scope of his or her Employment contract can commit. Nevertheless, these are breaches of duty in all respects. Basically, this can also lead to a Warning by the employee for just such a minor violation in labor law. Rather more rarely, but nevertheless possible are summary dismissals. CancellationsThe public's cry for justice seems to be very great at the moment.

The famous case of Germany's best-known supermarket cashier "Emmely" serves as a popular example of this, as the lady from Berlin was terminated without notice due to embezzlement of two deposit receipts in the amount of € 1.30. The employer was not given a prior warning in this case. It is important to note that in this case no prior warning had been issued by the employer for this or a similar petty offense. Emmely" took legal action against this ruling in Berlin before the Regional Labor Court and also lost in this and the previous instance. The employer argued that the relationship of trust between the employee and the employer had been irreparably destroyed.

Not discouraged by this ruling, "Emmely" went to the highest German labor court. Only this last instance revised the verdict of the regional labor court. The dismissal was not justified because it was only a "non-significant breach of duty. A simple Warning would have been sufficient in this case by the employer. The judge's reasoning went on to say that a very long period of service cannot be destroyed by a petty breach of the employment relationship. "Emmely" consequently had to be reinstated. According to the opinion of the court of last instance, the Berlin Regional Labor Court had not examined the more detailed personal circumstances of the "Emmely" case in sufficient detail and had assumed a significant breach of duty too quickly.

If we look at § 626 of the Civil Code, it itself stipulates that a service relationship, which is nothing other than an employment relationship, may be terminated for good cause without observing the Notice period can be terminated if there are facts that make it impossible to continue the employment relationship until the expiry of the ordinary notice period. The law itself states that all the circumstances of the individual case must be taken into account and that the interests of both parties to the contract, i.e. employer and employee, must be weighed up. Above all, it is relevant that, in the case of termination without notice Cancellation according to paragraph 2 of Section 626 of the German Civil Code (BGB), there is a period of two weeks in which the employer must have given notice to the employee. The start of the period is the point in time at which the employer learns of the circumstance of the breach of duty. What the dismissed employee should do in any case is to have the reason for the dismissal communicated in writing without delay, if this has not yet been done. The notice of termination itself must also be received in writing and in paper form.

However, one must not think that the theft of low-value items (petty offense) cannot result in termination without notice. Because in the rough one must admit that the employer is in the right. The employee is guilty of a breach of duty for which he is responsible vis-à-vis the employer. Thereby it is for the first time unimportant for an Arbeitsrechtler whether it concerns with the theft around 1,30 € Pfandbons or around the "golden cooking spoon". It is important, it must be looked here purposefully on the individual case. For example, there are reasons for a trivial matter if there is no danger of repetition or even a long period of service speaks for the employee and against the employer. However, the employee may also have completely different reasons for his actions. Possibly despair due to debts and lack of money plays a role, so the employer can perhaps look at the act with another eye and show a little more understanding for his own employee. In general, the employer should always try to find the most peaceful and gentle solution for himself and the employee.

The situation was different for a bakery saleswoman who was summarily dismissed because she took a piece of bee sting from the counter without paying for it. This had already been decided by a labor court in 1984. It is also possible, however, to be dismissed for a petty offense and to be given a partial right in the legal dispute. For example, a termination without notice took effect, but the Baden-Württemberg state labor court ruled in favor of a Severance pay in the amount of € 25,000.00 for the terminated party.

Thus, it may be summarized that in the case of theft of low-value items (petty offense), the area of trust between employer and employee is affected, but the "overall package" of the employment relationship with all its circumstances must be considered. Accordingly, as a rule, a warning to the employee is always required first.

Warning must always be considered if the employee has violated his or her contractual obligations. The purpose of the warning is to draw the employee's attention to the breach and to compliance with his duties. Accordingly, he is to be given an opportunity to correct his misconduct. However, this is of course only the case if the misconduct is not a serious breach of duty. Just then in such a case as a petty offense. Reasons for a warning are either poor performance of the employee or his misconduct such as theft itself. It should be noted that the warning must not be left to wait forever. The employer must also act promptly in this case in order not to forfeit its right to issue a warning for the petty offense. For example, a warning half a year after the incident is normally no longer valid. The employer has then in principle forfeited its right to issue a warning. Here, too, it depends on the point in time at which the employer became aware of the petty offense.

In general, the employer should have exhausted all of the sanctions available to him before resorting to such a drastic measure as termination without notice. Cancellation takes effect. The employer must therefore consider whether there is not a milder means of dealing with the petty labor law violation in a different way, and to enable the employer to find a different solution. Often it is also the case that the employer pretends to the employee to play him well, if one gives him instead of the summary dismissal a Termination agreement concerning the employment relationship. However, a termination agreement in general often has many disadvantages for the employee, even because of petty violations in labor law. For example, the employee may waive provisions of the Protection against dismissal, there is no hearing of the Termination by the works council Instead, the protection against dismissal for pregnant women and disabled persons no longer applies, the prospect of a supplementary company pension may be eliminated, or most importantly, you risk a three-month blocking period with regard to unemployment benefits.

If, despite all other circumstances, you do receive your notice of termination, all is not lost. In these cases, the dismissed person should file an action for protection against dismissal, because this is basically possible against all possible types of dismissal. This means that it does not matter whether the termination is ordinary, extraordinary or without notice. However, you must not wait too long, because the complaint must be filed with the competent labor court within the first three weeks after receipt of the notice of termination. On the basis of this, it is not also impossible with many employers that such a possible Severance pay or else to pay a good to very good Job reference is to be created.

An employee who has been summarily dismissed for a trivial violation of employment law should therefore not be completely unsettled and should in no case allow himself to be pushed directly into concluding a termination agreement. Rather, it is inevitable that the future client should seek (specialist) legal advice in any case, because his legal position is often not as unfavorable as it seems or is assumed. The "Emmely" case illustrates this in all respects, even if the path of German jurisdiction sometimes seems stubborn and longer than assumed.

Labor law petty offense, labor law petty offense, labor law petty offense, labor law petty offense, labor law petty offense

Petty labor law violations

Law office BAUMFALK in Kerpen-Horrem and Witten

Lawyer for - Labor Law | Criminal Law | IT Law | Data Protection

Contact us

Bagatellverstöße im Arbeitsrecht

Arbeitsrecht für Arbeitgeber und Arbeitnehmer

Bagatellverstöße im Arbeitsrecht

Rechtsanwaltskanzlei BAUMFALK in Kerpen-Horrem und Witten

Anwalt für - Arbeitsrecht | Strafrecht | IT-Recht | Datenschutz

Generell kommen Bagatellverstöße häufiger vor als gedacht. Grundlegend handelt es sich bei Bagatellen um „kleine, unbedeutende Sachen“ oder eben einfach formuliert um „Kleinigkeiten“. Spricht man von einer Bagatellstrafe, meint man somit eine sehr gering ausgefallene Strafe. Ein Bagatellverstoß ist daher eine Straftat, die nicht schwer wiegt.

Bagatellverstöße im Arbeitsrecht sind ebenso nicht selten. So handelt es sich dabei zum Beispiel um das Stehlen eines Brötchens als Bäckereifachverkäuferin oder aber um das Einstecken eines Schraubenschlüssels als Kfz-Mechaniker. Kein Bagatellverstoß sei es hingegen, wenn ein Bundespolizist während seiner Streife einschläft, so das Verwaltungsgericht Wiesbaden, da es sich bei der ausgeführten Tätigkeit um eine Kernpflicht aus seinem Arbeitsverhältnis handelt. So ist es möglich sich unendlich verschiedene Fallkonstellationen auszudenken, in denen ein Arbeitnehmer eine Pflichtverletzung im Rahmen seines Arbeitsvertrages begehen kann. Denn Pflichtverletzungen sind dies dennoch in allen Belangen. Grundlegend kann es so auch zu einer Abmahnung durch den Arbeitnehmer für eben so ein Bagatellverstoß im Arbeitsrecht kommen. Eher seltener, aber dennoch möglich sind fristlose Kündigungen, bei dem der Schrei der Öffentlichkeit nach Gerechtigkeit aktuell doch sehr groß zu sein scheint.

Dafür dient als gern genommenes Beispiel der berühmte Fall von Deutschlands bekanntester Supermarktkassiererin „Emmely“, denn die Dame aus Berlin wurde wegen Unterschlagung zweier Pfandbons in Höhe von 1,30 € fristlos gekündigt. Wichtig ist dabei, dass in diesem Fall keine vorherige Abmahnung des Arbeitgebers wegen diesem oder einem ähnlichen Bagatellverstoß ausgesprochen worden ist. Gegen dieses Urteil hat „Emmely“ in Berlin vor dem Landesarbeitsgericht geklagt und in dieser und der vorherigen Instanz auch verloren. Der Arbeitgeber sprach in seiner Begründung davon, dass das Vertrauensverhältnis zwischen dem Arbeitnehmer und dem Arbeitgeber irreparabel zerstört gewesen wäre.

Nicht entmutigt von diesem Urteil ging „Emmely“ an das höchste deutsche Arbeitsgericht. Erst diese letzte Instanz revidierte das Urteil des Landesarbeitsgerichts. Die Entlassung sei nicht gerechtfertigt gewesen, da es sich nur um eine „nicht erhebliche Pflichtverletzung“ handle. Eine simple Abmahnung hätte in diesem Falle durch den Arbeitgeber ausgereicht. Weiter hieß es in der Begründung des Richters, dass eine sehr lange Betriebszugehörigkeit nicht dadurch zerstört werden kann, wenn ein Bagatellverstoß im Arbeitsverhältnis vorliegt. „Emmely“ musste folglich wieder eingestellt werden. Das Landesarbeitsgericht Berlin habe, so die Meinung der letzten Instanz, die genaueren persönlichen Umstände des Falles „Emmely“ nicht genau genug durchleuchtet und eine zu schnelle erhebliche Pflichtverletzung angenommen.

Betrachtet man den § 626 des bürgerlichen Gesetzbuches, so schreibt dieser selbst vor, dass ein Dienstverhältnis, was nichts anderes ist wie ein Arbeitsverhältnis, aus einem wichtigen Grund ohne Einhaltung der Kündigungsfrist gekündigt werden kann, soweit Tatsachen vorliegen, die die Fortsetzung des Arbeitsverhältnisses bis zum Ablauf der ordentlichen Kündigungsfrist unmöglich machen. Dabei spricht das Gesetz selbst davon, dass alle Umstände des Einzellfalls berücksichtigt werden müssen und eine Abwägung der Interessen beider Vertragsteile, also Arbeitgeber und Arbeitnehmer, stattgefunden haben muss. Vor allem ist relevant, dass es bei einer fristlosen Kündigung nach Absatz 2 des § 626 BGB eine Frist von zwei Wochen gibt, in denen der Arbeitgeber den Arbeitnehmer gekündigt haben muss. Fristbeginn ist dabei der Zeitpunkt, indem der Arbeitgeber von dem Umstand der Pflichtverletzung erfährt. Was der gekündigte Arbeitnehmer auf jeden Fall machen sollte ist es, sich den Kündigungsgrund unverzüglich schriftlich mitteilen zu lassen, wenn dies noch nicht erfolgt sein sollte. Die Kündigung selbst muss ebenso schriftlich und in Papierform erhalten worden sein.

Nicht darf man dadurch aber denken, dass der Diebstahl von geringwertigen Sachen (Bagatellverstoß) nicht in einer fristlosen Kündigung enden kann. Denn im groben muss man sich eingestehen, dass der Arbeitgeber im Recht ist. Der Arbeitnehmer hat sich eine Pflichtverletzung zuzuschreiben, die er gegenüber dem Arbeitgeber zu vertreten hat. Dabei ist es für einen Arbeitsrechtler erstmals unbeachtlich, ob es sich beim Diebstahl um 1,30 € Pfandbons oder um den „goldenen Kochlöffel“ handelt. Wichtig ist, es muss hierbei gezielt auf den Einzellfall geguckt werden. So sprechen zum Beispiel Gründe für eine Bagatelle, wenn es keine Wiederholungsgefahr gebe oder gar eine lange Betriebszugehörigkeit für den Arbeitnehmer und gegen den Arbeitgeber spreche. Vielleicht hat der Arbeitnehmer aber auch ganz andere Gründe für sein Handeln. Möglicherweise spielen Verzweiflungen aufgrund von Schulden und Geldnot eine Rolle, so kann der Arbeitgeber vielleicht auch noch mit einem anderen Auge auf die Tat schauen und etwas mehr Verständnis für den eigenen Arbeitnehmer aufbringen. Generell sollte der Arbeitgeber darauf schauen für sich und den Arbeitnehmer immer die friedfertigste und schonendste Lösung zu finden.

Anders gegangen ist es nämlich einer Bäckereifachverkäuferin, die wegen eines Stücks Bienenstich, welches sie aus der Theke nahm, ohne dafür zu bezahlen, fristlos gekündigt wurde. Dies hatte ein Arbeitsgericht bereits 1984 so entschieden. Möglich ist aber auch, dass man wegen eines Bagatellverstoßes gekündigt wird und ein Teilrecht im Rechtsstreit bekommt. So entfaltete eine fristlose Kündigung zwar ihre Wirkung, allerdings entschied das baden-württembergische Landesarbeitsgericht für eine Abfindung in Höhe von 25.000,00 € für die Gekündigte.

So darf man folglich zusammenfassen, dass es bei einem Diebstahl von geringwertigen Sachen (Bagatellverstoß) zwar zu Belastungen des Vertrauensbereiches zwischen Arbeitgeber und Arbeitnehmer kommt, allerdings das „Gesamtpaket“ Arbeitsverhältnis mit all seinen Umständen zu betrachten ist. Demnach bedarf es im Regelfall immer erst einer Abmahnung gegenüber dem Arbeitnehmer.

Eine Abmahnung ist dann immer in Betracht zu ziehen, wenn der Arbeitnehmer seine vertraglich verankerten Pflichten verletzt hat. Die Abmahnung hat dabei den Zweck, den Arbeitnehmer auf die Verletzung und die Einhaltung seiner Pflichten hinzuweisen. Es soll ihm demnach eine Gelegenheit gegeben werden, sein Fehlverhalten zu korrigieren. Allerdings dies natürlich wiederum nur, wenn es sich bei dem bemängeltem Fehlverhalten nicht um eine schwerwiegende Pflichtverletzung handelt. Eben dann in so einem Fall wie einem Bagatellverstoß. Gründe für eine Abmahnung liegen dabei entweder in schlechter Leistung des Arbeitnehmers oder in dessen Fehlverhalten wie einem Diebstahl selbst. Zu beachten ist dabei, dass die Abmahnung auch nicht ewig auf sich warten lassen darf. Der Arbeitgeber muss auch hier zeitnah handeln, um sein Recht auf eine Abmahnung wegen des Bagatellverstoßes nicht zu verwirken. So hat zum Beispiel eine Abmahnung ein halbes Jahr nach Vorfall im Normalfall kein Bestand mehr. Der Arbeitgeber hat dann sein Recht zur Abmahnung grundsätzlich verwirkt. Auch hier kommt es wieder auf den Zeitpunkt an, an dem der Arbeitgeber von dem Bagatellverstoß Kenntnis erlangt hat.

Generell sollte der Arbeitgeber also erst all seine ihm zur Verfügung stehenden Sanktionsmittel ausgeschöpft haben, bevor er zu einem solch drastischen Mittel wie der fristlosen Kündigung greift. Der Arbeitgeber muss daher abwägen, ob es nicht doch noch ein milderes Mittel gibt, um den Bagatellverstoß im Arbeitsrecht anders abzuhandeln, und dem Arbeitgeber eine andere Lösung zu ermöglichen. Oftmals ist es auch so, dass der Arbeitgeber dem Arbeitnehmer vortäuscht ihm gut zuzuspielen, wenn man ihm anstatt der fristlosen Kündigung ein Aufhebungsvertrag das Arbeitsverhältnis betreffend anbietet. Allerdings hat ein Aufhebungsvertrag im allgemeinen, auch wegen Bagatellverstößen im Arbeitsrecht, oftmals viele Nachteile für den Arbeitnehmer. So verzichtet der Arbeitnehmer möglicherweise auf Vorschriften des Kündigungsschutzes, es findet keine Anhörung der Kündigung durch den Betriebsrat statt, der Kündigungsschutz für Schwangere und Behinderte entfällt, die Aussicht auf betriebliche Zusatzrente kann entfallen oder aber am wichtigsten ist, dass man eine dreimonatige Sperrzeit bezüglich des Arbeitslosengeldes riskiert.

Wenn man doch trotz aller weiteren Umstände die eigene Kündigung in den Händen hält, ist noch nicht alles verloren. In diesen Fällen sollte der Gekündigte eine Kündigungsschutzklage einreichen, denn dies ist grundsätzlich gegen alle möglichen Arten der Kündigung möglich. Sprich egal, ob es sich hierbei um eine ordentliche, eine außerordentliche oder eine außerordentliche fristlose Kündigung handelt. Dabei darf man nur nicht allzu lange warten, denn die Klage muss zwingend in den ersten drei Wochen nach Erhalt der Kündigung beim zuständigen Arbeitsgericht eingereicht worden sein. Auf der Grundlage dessen, ist es bei vielen Arbeitgebern nicht auch unmöglich, dass so eine mögliche Abfindung zu zahlen oder aber ein gutes bis sehr gutes Arbeitszeugnis zu erstellen ist.

Ein Arbeitnehmer, der wegen eines Bagatellverstoßes im Arbeitsrecht fristlos gekündigt wurde, sollte sich daher nicht komplett verunsichern lassen und sich auf keinen Fall direkt zum Abschluss eines Aufhebungsvertrages drängen lassen. Eher steht es unweigerlich im Raum, dass der zukünftige Mandant sich in jedem Fall (fach-)anwaltlich beraten lassen sollte, denn seine Rechtsposition ist oftmals gar nicht so ungünstig wie es scheint oder man es annimmt. Das verdeutlicht der Fall „Emmely“ in allen Belangen, auch wenn der Weg der deutschen Gerichtsbarkeit manchmal hartnäckig und länger scheint als angenommen.