Severance pay in labor law

Law firm for labor law in Kerpen, Cologne and Witten

Labor law | Strong partner for employees and employers

Severance pay in the event of termination and termination agreement

Law firm for labor law in Kerpen, Cologne and Witten

Lawyer for - Labor Law | Criminal Law | IT Law | Data Protection

In principle, a termination of employment is not necessarily a reason for the employee to despair. Especially not if the amount of severance pay received is high enough. But what exactly does the term severance pay mean? And what is the amount of severance pay to which an employee is entitled in the event of termination? We explain the terms in detail and what the employee has to do in the event of termination.

What exactly is severance pay?

Definition according to German labor law

A so-called severance payment is permitted under the German Labor law defined as a one-time cash payment by the employer to the employee and is usually made in connection with the termination of employment by the employer or the conclusion of a termination agreement. The statutory severance payment, to which, however, there is an actual legal claim only in extremely rare cases, is the so-called standard severance payment.

How to get severance pay as an employee?

Conditions for severance pay

severance pay, severance pay in labor law, severance pay lawyer, severance pay termination, termination severance pay

In principle, according to German Labor lawthat there is no legal entitlement to receive severance pay. Unless these are separately regulated and agreed in the form of contracts, e.g. collective agreements, social plans, individual employment contracts or management contracts. However, some companies / employers may also make so-called voluntary payments of severance pay as a result of negotiations in relation to settlement or termination agreements.

A legal regulation on this subject can only be found in § 1a of the KSchG (Dismissal Protection Act). According to the legal wording, an employee is only entitled to payment of a severance payment if the employer has given notice of termination for operational reasons to the employee and the employee is entitled to a severance payment if the employer fails to give notice of termination for operational reasons. Preclusion-, lawsuit period offers a compensation payment.

The exception to this, however, is § 1a of the KSchG (Dismissal Protection Act), since the purpose of this is that no lawsuit is filed. In principle, however, it should be noted that even if the special Protection against dismissal for the employee, the chances of the employer's willingness to pay a severance payment are not extinguished. However, this presupposes that the employee has experienced legal support in negotiating this with the employer. One on Labor law specialized lawyer.

For each Legal action against dismissal also causes costs on the employer's side, which are often higher for the employer than the settlement sum demanded by the employee and thus offers a high chance for the employee that a settlement will be paid to him after all. In addition, there is the risk of default of acceptance for every employer, which means that the employer is obligated to pay all outstanding salaries in the event of losing the lawsuit.

Under what conditions am I entitled to severance pay?

The 2 cases of the legal claim

1st case:

If the employer has given the employee notice of termination for operational reasons and has informed the employee that if the notice period is not observed, the employee is entitled to receive severance pay (§ 1a of the KSchGDismissal Protection Act).

2nd case:

If, upon the employee's request or the employer's request by the labor court, the employment relationship between the parties is terminated after § 9 KSchG has been dissolved. In all other scenarios, severance amounts and severance claims will be negotiated individually between the parties employee and employer. Termination and settlement agreements are a proven and commonly used means of achieving this. In court proceedings, the agreement is reached by means of a settlement. 

At this point, it is also worth mentioning that an employee's chance of receiving severance pay is particularly high if the employer cannot easily terminate the employee.

Cases in which the employee is not entitled to severance pay

The following scenarios completely exclude the entitlement to a severance payment or the assertion of this entitlement, or make it considerably more difficult to reach an agreement on this:

  • Extraordinary termination
  • Termination during the probationary period
  • Behavioral termination
  • Termination for personal reasons

How much is a severance payment as a rule?

Calculation of the potential settlement amount

severance pay, severance pay in labor law, severance pay lawyer, severance pay termination, termination severance pay

In principle, it should be noted here that according to German Labor law there is a legal entitlement to severance pay for the employee in the event of termination, but the question of whether severance pay is paid to the employee and how much is clearly a matter of negotiation. In most cases, we negotiate the highest possible severance payment for our clients. Therefore, it is also indispensable to engage a specialist for this activity.

The so-called standard compensation is determined or calculated by a simple formula. Which is as follows:

Number of years of employment x 0.5 x the employee's gross monthly salary. In order to achieve a higher settlement amount, your lawyer must negotiate hard with the employer.

One example:
An employee has been employed by his employer for 20 years. The employer terminates this, the employee files a Legal action against dismissal before the labor court through his lawyer and demands the following severance payment on a gross monthly salary of 3,000 euros:

30,000 euros (20 years of service x 0.5 x 3,000 euros gross monthly salary)

However, the factor of 0.5 can be negotiated upwards depending on the age, the content of the employee's activity and many other factors. However, this requires a profound knowledge of the German Labor Lawwhich is why you should definitely put such a process in the hands of a specialist.

How high is the severance payment entitlement in the event of termination for operational reasons?

Termination for operational reasons

In the event of termination for operational reasons, the employer is not obliged to pay the employee any severance pay at all. According to § Section 1a of the KSchG (Dismissal Protection Act) the right to payment of severance pay is subject to very specific conditions, which must be fulfilled in order to claim it. The text of the law provides the following:

"If the employer terminates the employment contract due to urgent operational requirements after § 1 Para. 2 Sentence 1 and if the employee raises a claim by the expiry of the deadline of the § 4 sentence 1 no action for a declaration that the employment relationship has not been terminated by the notice of termination, the employee shall be entitled to severance pay upon expiration of the notice period."

Thus, if the employer terminates the employee for operational / business reasons and indicates in this termination a reference to severance pay, it is in principle possible for the employee to receive severance pay. However, this entitlement to severance pay presupposes that the employee has met the deadline for filing a Legal action against dismissal has elapsed. In the case of termination for operational reasons, the calculation formula of the standard severance payment is also used to calculate the severance payment amount, as in the examples already mentioned. Here, too, the calculation factor can be further increased by various details and contents of the employment relationship, if necessary.

Why are severance payments agreed even though the employee has no legal right to them?

Why severance payments without legal entitlement?

Despite the fact that, except in very exceptional cases, there is no legal right to receive severance pay after an employee's termination by the employer, many employers are nevertheless willing to pay it to the employee. This is because in the vast majority of cases, the receipt of a severance payment is the result of complex and time-consuming negotiations between the employee and the employer. However, there are also special cases in which the employee is actually entitled to receive a severance payment. These are, for example, "disadvantage compensation settlements", "social plan settlements", settlements from severance agreements or even settlements pursuant to § Section 1a of the KSchG (Dismissal Protection Act). It should be noted, however, that contractually agreed severance and compensation claims mainly occur in the case of contracts with senior executives.

But why pay employers compensation when they are not obliged to pay it? The explanation is quite simple.

In the event of an employee's termination by the employer, the employer shall always have the option of a Legal action against dismissal at the competent labor court, as long as the preclusion period is observed. In the context of this legal dispute, the employer also incurs costs, as it is usually represented by a lawyer, as well as court costs, and the competent court also examines and decides whether the termination of the employee was lawful or not. The employer also runs the risk of losing the case, because if the employer loses the case, the employment relationship between the employer and the employee is deemed never to have ended, and the employer must therefore also pay wages/salaries for this period.

Since such Litigation against dismissal can drag on for months or even years in some cases, this is an economic risk for employers/entrepreneurs that should not be underestimated. For this reason, both sides, employee and employer, are best advised to reach a settlement as quickly as possible, ideally out of court, but at the latest in court. This also saves time for the courts.

So, as already mentioned, the economic risk associated with a Dismissal protection proceedings for the employer by paying the dismissed employee a severance payment as quickly as possible or reaching an agreement on this.

Excerpt from termination for operational reasons in connection with severance pay § Section 1a of the KSchG (Dismissal Protection Act):

"(1) If the employer terminates the employment relationship due to urgent operational requirements in accordance with Section 1 (2) sentence 1 and the employee does not bring an action for a declaration that the employment relationship has not been terminated as a result of the termination by the expiry of the period of notice in accordance with Section 4 sentence 1, the employee shall be entitled to severance pay upon expiry of the period of notice. The claim requires the employer's indication in the notice of termination that the termination is based on urgent operational requirements and that the employee can claim severance pay if the period for bringing an action expires.

(2) The amount of the severance payment shall be 0.5 months' earnings for each year of the existence of the employment relationship. § Section 10 (3) shall apply mutatis mutandis. In determining the duration of the employment relationship, a period of more than six months shall be rounded up to a full year."

Severance pay through a termination agreement

With regard to the conclusion of a termination agreement, the employee generally has no claim at all to the payment of a severance package, unless such a package has been negotiated between the employee, through his lawyer, and the employer. Granularly broken down, this means that a termination agreement represents a contractual agreement between the parties employee and employer, which declares the employment relationship terminated, but in contrast to the termination with the particularity that both negotiating parties must agree to this agreement. Since the employee must agree to this termination agreement, in such a case there is a particularly high chance for the employee to negotiate a particularly high severance payment with the employer.

Advantages and disadvantages of the settlement agreement

Pros / cons settlement

severance pay, severance pay in labor law, severance pay lawyer, severance pay termination, termination severance pay

Compensation for dismissal or severance settlement is the most common case of severance pay. In such a case, the employer agrees to pay a severance payment to the employee leaving the employment relationship by giving notice or concluding a termination agreement. Of course, only in the case of the employee's consent to the termination of the employment relationship.

To what extent should the employee actually agree to the settlement?

Per Settlement:

  • Most cost-effective settlement option for the employee to receive severance pay. No lawyer's fees or court costs are incurred. Especially since the legal dispute can also be very nerve-racking and time-consuming for the employee.
  • High severance payments are possible. The economic risk is very high in the event of losing the dismissal protection proceedings due to a possibly invalid termination or similar and benefits the dismissed employee.
  • As a rule, the issuance of a favorable job reference is also part of these negotiations.

Contra Settlement:

  • The conclusion of a settlement should be well-considered and checked, ideally by a specialized lawyer, as the content cannot be corrected after the conclusion of this agreement.
  • There is a risk that the payment of a severance package will lead to a 3-month blocking period at the responsible employment office, whereby the employee loses his entitlement to unemployment benefits for this period. In some cases, the blocking period can be even longer.

What is a default of acceptance and the associated default of acceptance wages?

Definition of Default of Acceptance / Default of Acceptance Wage

The definition of default of acceptance and the related default of acceptance wage is as follows. The default in acceptance according to § 615 BGB arises when the employee offers his labor to the employer, but the employer does not call upon it.

Example:
An employee is no longer employed in the company by his employer after notice of termination has been given. The employee files an action for protection against dismissal and, after the end of the action for protection against dismissal, the court finds that the employer's dismissal is invalid. Accordingly, the employment relationship between the employee and the employer continues to exist retroactively, including the period of the legal proceedings. Thus, the employee has a claim against the employer for the so-called acceptance delay wage, the wage for the entire period between the termination and the end of the legal proceedings. Since in particularly serious cases such negotiations or legal proceedings can last for years, the employee is entitled to a great deal of money in the event of a claim for default of acceptance wages.

A severance payment must also be taxed

Taxation of a severance payment

An employee whose employment relationship ends as a result of termination or the conclusion of a termination agreement and who receives a severance payment in the course of this must always pay tax on this in full. However, it is possible to apply for a tax reduction via the so-called quintuple regulation, provided that the full severance payment was paid out in one calendar year. However, severance payments are always exempt from social security contributions. However, the solidarity surcharge and church tax still apply.

Definition quintuple rule

With the so-called quintuple rule, extraordinary income such as severance pay received as a result of a termination or the conclusion of a cancellation agreement is given preferential treatment under German tax law (Section 34 EStG). A one-time, high income, such as severance pay, is treated for tax purposes as if the recipient had received it evenly distributed over the next five years. This avoids a one-time excessive tax burden for the employee, because due to the tax progression, the tax rate would be significantly higher than if it had been spread over five years. To this end, a fifth of the one-time income is added to the taxable income when calculating the tax. The difference between this amount and the (normal) tax amount without one-time income is multiplied by five and results in the tax amount for the entire one-time income.

In which case is the severance pay not exempt from social security?

First of all, all severance payments that arise in connection with the termination of an employment relationship, e.g. through a termination or the conclusion of a cancellation agreement, are exempt from social security contributions, since the overriding purpose of a severance payment is to compensate the employee monetarily for the loss of a job and thus of the associated income. However, there are also special cases, scenarios in which this is fully subject to social security contributions. The same applies to the payment of health insurance contributions.

These are as follows:

  • In the event of termination by the employer due to a change in circumstances
  • In the event of the expiry of a fixed-term employment contract
  • In the event of a transfer of operations
  • In the event of retirement
  • In the case of payment of leave compensation for leave not taken but to which the employee is entitled

Have you been terminated or received a severance agreement from your employer?

Then contact us

+49 (0) 2273 - 40 68 504

info@kanzlei-baumfalk.de

Law firm for labor law in Kerpen, Cologne and Witten

Lawyer for - Labor Law | Criminal Law | IT Law | Data Protection

Abfindung im Arbeitsrecht

Rechtsanwaltskanzlei für Arbeitsrecht in Kerpen, Köln und Witten

Arbeitsrecht | Starker Partner für Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitgeber

Abfindung bei Kündigung und Aufhebungsvertrag

Rechtsanwaltskanzlei für Arbeitsrecht in Kerpen, Köln und Witten

Anwalt für - Arbeitsrecht | Strafrecht | IT-Recht | Datenschutz

Grundsätzlich ist eine Kündigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses nicht zwangsweise für den Arbeitnehmer ein Grund zu verzweifeln. Insbesondere dann nicht, wenn die Höhe der Abfindung, die dieser erhält, hoch genug ist. Doch was bedeutet der Begriff Abfindung eigentlich genau? Und wie hoch ist die Höhe der Abfindung, die einem Arbeitnehmer im Falle der Kündigung zusteht? Wir erklären Ihnen die Begrifflichkeiten genau und was im Falle einer Kündigung für den Arbeitnehmer zu tun ist.

Was ist eine Abfindung genau?

Definition nach deutschem Arbeitsrecht

Eine sogenannte Abfindung ist nach dem deutschen Arbeitsrecht als eine einmalige Geldzahlung des Arbeitgebers oder der Arbeitgeberin an den Arbeitnehmer definiert und wird in der Regel im Zusammenhang mit der Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses durch eine Kündigung seitens des Arbeitgebers oder das Abschließen eines Aufhebungsvertrages getätigt. Die gesetzliche Abfindung, auf die es allerdings nur in äußerst seltenen Fällen einen tatsächlichen rechtlichen Anspruch gibt, ist die sogenannte Regelabfindung.

Wie bekommt man als Arbeitnehmer eine Abfindung?

Voraussetzungen für eine Abfindung

Abfindung, Abfindung im Arbeitsrecht, Abfindung Anwalt, Abfindung Kündigung, Kündigung Abfindung

Grundsätzlich gilt nach deutschem Arbeitsrecht, dass es keinen gesetzlichen Rechtsanspruch auf den Erhalt einer Abfindung gibt. Es sei denn diese sind in Form von Verträgen, z.B. Tarifverträgen, Sozialplänen, Einzeil-Arbeitsverträgen oder Geschäftsführerverträgen separiert geregelt und vereinbart. Manche Unternehmen / Arbeitgeber leisten unter Umständen allerdings auch sogenannte freiwillige Zahlungen von Abfindungen als Resultat von Verhandlungen im Bezug auf Abwicklungs- oder Aufhebungsverträge.

Eine gesetzliche Regelung zu dieser Thematik lässt sich lediglich in § 1a des KSchG (Kündigungsschutzgesetzes) finden. Der gesetzlichen Formulierung nach hat ein Arbeitnehmer nur dann einen Anspruch auf die Zahlung einer Abfindung, wenn der Arbeitgeber eine betriebsbedingte Kündigung diesem gegenüber ausgesprochen hat und dem Arbeitnehmer bei Versäumung der Präklusions-, Klagefrist eine Entschädigungszahlung anbietet.

Die Ausnahme dazu stellt allerdings § 1a des KSchG (Kündigungsschutzgesetzes) dar, da diese zum Gegenstand hat, dass eben nicht geklagt wird. Grundsätzlich ist jedoch anzumerken, dass auch wenn der besondere Kündigungsschutz für den Arbeitnehmer nicht greift, die Chancen auf die Bereitwilligkeit des Arbeitgebers eine Abfindung zu zahlen, nicht erloschen sind. Jedoch setzt dies Voraus, dass der Arbeitnehmer eine versierte rechtliche Unterstützung beim Verhandeln dieser mit dem Arbeitgeber mitbringt. Einen auf Arbeitsrecht spezialisierten Rechtsanwalt.

Denn jede Kündigungsschutzklage verursacht auch auf der Seite des Arbeitgebers Kosten, welche oft für den Arbeitgeber höher als die geforderte Abfindungssumme des Arbeitnehmers ist und somit eine Hohe Chance für den Arbeitnehmer bietet, dass eben doch lieber eine Abfindung an diesen geleistet wird. Zusätzlich besteht für jeden Arbeitgeber noch das Risiko des Annahmeverzugs, soll heißen, dass der Arbeitgeber, im Falle des Verlierens des Prozesses, dazu verpflichtet ist sämtliche ausstehenden Gehälter noch nachzuzahlen.

Unter welchen Bedinungen steht mir eine Abfindung zu?

Die 2 Fälle des gesetzlichen Anspruchs

1. Fall:

Wenn der Arbeitgeber dem Arbeitnehmer gegenüber eine betriebsbedingte Kündigung ausgesprochen hat und diesen darauf hingewiesen hat, dass der Arbeitnehmer bei tatlosem verstreichen lassen der Kündigungsfrist einen Anspruch auf die Zahlung einer Abfindung hat (§ 1a des KSchGKündigungsschutzgesetzes).

2. Fall:

Wenn auf Antrag des Arbeitnehmers oder Antrag des Arbeitgebers durch das Arbeitsgericht das Arbeitsverhältnis zwischen den Parteien nach § 9 KSchG aufgelöst wurde. In sämtlichen anderen Szenarien werden Abfindungshöhen und Abfindungsansprüche zwischen den Parteien Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitgeber individuell verhandelt werden. Ein probates und alltäglich genutztes Mittel dazu stellen Aufhebungs- und Abwicklungsverträge dar. Im gerichtlichen Prozess findet die Einigung durch einen Vergleich statt. 

An diesem Punkt ist auch zu erwähnen, dass eine Chance des Arbeitnehmers auf die Zahlung einer Abfindung insbesondere dann hoch ist, wenn der Arbeitgeber diesen nicht ohne Weiteres kündigen kann.

Fälle in denen dem Arbeitnehmer keine Abfindung zusteht

Folgende Szenarien schließen den Anspruch auf eine Abfindung bzw. Geltendmachung dieser komplett aus oder erschweren das Erreichung einer Einigung zu dieser erheblich:

  • Außerordentliche Kündigung
  • Kündigung in der Probezeit
  • Verhaltensbedingte Kündigung
  • Personenbedingte Kündigung

Wie hoch ist eine Abfindung im Regelfall?

Berechnung der potentiellen Abfindungshöhe

Abfindung, Abfindung im Arbeitsrecht, Abfindung Anwalt, Abfindung Kündigung, Kündigung Abfindung

Grundsätzlich ist hier zu beachten, dass es nach deutschem Arbeitsrecht einen gesetzlichen Anspruch auf eine Abfindung im Kündigungsfall für den Arbeitnehmer gibt, jedoch ist die Frage ob eine Abfindung an den Arbeitnehmer ausgezahlt wird und wie hoch, klare Verhandlungssache. In den meisten Fällen verhandeln wir für unsere Mandanten die höchstmögliche Abfindung. Daher ist es auch unabdinglich einen Spezialisten für diese Tätigkeit zu engagieren.

Die sogenannte Regelabfindung wird durch eine einfache Formel bestimmt bzw. errechnet. Welche wie folgt lautet:

Anzahl der Beschäftigungsdauer in Jahren x 0,5 x das Bruttomonatsgehalt des Arbeitnehmers. Um eine höher angesetzte Abfindungssumme zu erreichen muss durch Ihren Rechtsanwalt hart mit dem Arbeitgeber verhandelt werden.

Eine Beispiel:
Ein Arbeitnehmer ist 20 Jahre bei seinem Arbeitgeber angestellt. Der Arbeitgeber kündigt diesen, der Arbeitnehmer reicht eine Kündigungsschutzklage vor dem Arbeitsgericht durch seinen Rechtsanwalt ein und verlangt bei einem Bruttomonatsgehalt von 3.000 Euro folgende Abfindung:

30.000 Euro (20 Jahre Betriebszugehörigkeit x 0,5 x 3.000 Euro Bruttomonatsgehalt)

Der Faktor von 0,5 kann jedoch abhängig vom Alter, des Inhaltes der Tätigkeit des Arbeitnehmers und vielen weiteren Faktoren, nach oben verhandelt werden. Hierfür bedarf es allerdings einer fundierten Kenntnis des deutschen Arbeitsrechts, weshalb Sie einen solchen Prozess unbedingt in die Hände eines Spezialisten geben sollten.

Wie hoch ist der Abfindungsanspruch im Falle einer betriebsbedingten Kündigung?

Betriebsbedingte Kündigung

Im Falle einer betriebsbedingten Kündigung ist der Arbeitgeber nicht zwangsweise in der Pflicht an den Arbeitnehmer überhaupt eine Abfindung auszuzahlen. Nach § 1a des KSchG (Kündigungsschutzgesetzes) ist der Anspruch auf die Auszahlung einer Abfindung an sehr spezifische Voraussetzungen gebunden, welche für die Geltendmachung dieser erfüllt sein müssen. Der Gesetzestext dazu gibt folgendes her:

„Kündigt der Arbeitgeber wegen dringender betrieblicher Erfordernisse nach § 1 Abs. 2 Satz 1 und erhebt der Arbeitnehmer/die Arbeitnehmerin bis zum Ablauf der Frist des § 4 Satz 1 keine Klage auf Feststellung, dass das Arbeitsverhältnis durch die Kündigung nicht aufgelöst ist, hat der Arbeitnehmer mit dem Ablauf der Kündigungsfrist Anspruch auf eine Abfindung.“

Kündigt der Arbeitgeber den Arbeitnehmer also aus betriebsbedingten / betrieblichen Gründen und gibt in dieser Kündigung einen Hinweis auf eine Abfindung an, ist es für den Arbeitnehmer grundsätzlich möglich eine Abfindung zu erhalten. Jedoch setzt dieser Anspruch für die Abfindung voraus, dass der Arbeitnehmer die Frist zur Einreichung einer Kündigungsschutzklage verstreichen lässt. Im Falle der betriebsbedingten Kündigung wird ebenfalls wie in den bereits genannten Beispielen, zur Berechnung der Abfindungshöhe, die Berechnungsformel der Regelabfindung verwendet. Auch hier lässt sich der Berechnungsfaktor durch unterschiedlichste Details und Inhalte des Anstellungsverhältnisses ggfs. noch weiter erhöhen.

Wieso werden Abfindungen vereinbart, obwohl der Arbeitnehmer keinen gesetzlichen Anspruch darauf hat?

Warum Abfindungen ohne gesetzlichen Anspruch?

Trotz des Faktes, dass es außer in absoluten Ausnahmefällen keinen gesetzlichen Anspruch auf den Erhalt einer Abfindung nach Kündigung des Arbeitnehmers durch den Arbeitgeber, sind viele Arbeitgeber dennoch dazu bereit eine solche an den Arbeitnehmer zu zahlen. Denn in den allermeisten Fällen ist der Erhalt einer Abfindung ein Resultat von aufwendigen und  komplexen Verhandlungen zwischen dem Arbeitnehmer und dem Arbeitgeber. Allerdings gibt es auch die Sonderfälle in denen ein tatsächlicher Anspruch auf den Erhalt einer Abfindung seitens des Arbeitnehmers besteht. Diese sind z.B. „Nachteilsausgleichsabfindungen“, „Sozialplanabfindungen“, Abfindungen aus Ablösungsvereinbarungen oder gar Abfindungen gemäß § 1a des KSchG (Kündigungsschutzgesetzes). Wobei zu erwähnen ist, dass vertraglich vereinbarte Abfindungs-, Ablösungsansprüche hauptsächlich bei Verträgen von leitenden Angestellten / Führungskräften vorkommen.

Doch warum zahlen Arbeitgeber abfinden, wenn sie doch gar nicht dazu verpflichtet sind eine solche zu zahlen? Die Erklärung dafür ist recht simpel.

Im Falle der Kündigung eines Arbeitnehmers durch den Arbeitgeber hat dieser die stets die Möglichkeit eine Kündigungsschutzklage beim zuständigen Arbeitsgericht einzureichen, solange die Ausschlussfrist gewahrt ist. Im Rahmen dieser gerichtlichen Auseinandersetzung entstehen zum einen auch dem Arbeitgeber Kosten, da in der Regel auch dieser anwaltlich vertreten wird, sowie die Gerichtskosten, zudem wird durch das zuständige Gericht geprüft und entschieden ob die Kündigung des Arbeitnehmers rechtmäßig war oder nicht. Hier besteht ebenfalls auch für den Arbeitgeber das Risiko des Unterliegens, denn wenn der Arbeitgeber in einem solchen Verfahren unterliegt, gilt das Arbeitsverhältnis zwischen diesem und dem Arbeitnehmer als nie beendet, folglich müssen auch für diesen Zeitraum Löhne / Gehälter seitens des Arbeitgebers bezahlt werden.

Da sich derartige Kündigungsschutzprozesse teilweise über Monate oder in manchen Fällen sogar Jahre hinweg ziehen können, ist dies ein nicht zu unterschätzendes wirtschaftliches Risiko für Arbeitgeber / Unternehmer. Daher sind beide Seiten, Arbeitnehmer sowie Arbeitgeber, bestens darin beraten, sich im Optimalfall außergerichtlich, spätestens allerdings vor Gericht schnellstmöglich zu vergleichen. Zudem spart dies auch den Gerichten Zeit.

Wie also bereits erwähnt verringert sich das wirtschaftliche Risiko, das mit einem Kündigungsschutzprozess verbunden ist, für den Arbeitgeber eklatant dadurch, dass dieser dem gekündigten Arbeitnehmer auf schnellstem Wege eine Abfindung auszahlt bzw. man sich auf diese einigt.

Auszug aus zur betriebsbedingten Kündigung in Verbindung mit einer Abfindung § 1a des KSchG (Kündigungsschutzgesetzes):

„(1) Kündigt der Arbeitgeber wegen dringender betrieblicher Erfordernisse nach § 1 Abs. 2 Satz 1 und erhebt der Arbeitnehmer bis zum Ablauf der Frist des § 4 Satz 1 keine Klage auf Feststellung, dass das Arbeitsverhältnis durch die Kündigung nicht aufgelöst ist, hat der Arbeitnehmer mit dem Ablauf der Kündigungsfrist Anspruch auf eine Abfindung. Der Anspruch setzt den Hinweis des Arbeitgebers in der Kündigungserklärung voraus, dass die Kündigung auf dringende betriebliche Erfordernisse gestützt ist und der Arbeitnehmer bei Verstreichenlassen der Klagefrist die Abfindung beanspruchen kann.

(2) Die Höhe der Abfindung beträgt 0,5 Monatsverdienste für jedes Jahr des Bestehens des Arbeitsverhältnisses. § 10 Abs. 3 gilt entsprechend. Bei der Ermittlung der Dauer des Arbeitsverhältnisses ist ein Zeitraum von mehr als sechs Monaten auf ein volles Jahr aufzurunden.“

Abfindung durch einen Aufhebungsvertrag

Bezüglich des Schließens eines Aufhebungsvertrages hat der Arbeitnehmer generell überhaupt keinen Anspruch auf die Zahlung einer Abfindung, es sei denn, eine solche wurde zwischen Arbeitnehmer, durch seinen Rechtsanwalt, und Arbeitgeber ausgehandelt. Granular heruntergebrochen bedeutet dies, dass ein Aufhebungsvertrag eine vertragliche Vereinbarung zwischen den Parteien Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitgeber darstellt, welche das Arbeitsverhältnis für beendet erklärt, jedoch im Gegensatz zur Kündigung mit der Besonderheit, dass beide Verhandlungspartner diesem Vertrag zustimmen müssen. Da der Arbeitnehmer diesem Aufhebungsvertrag zustimmen muss, besteht in einem solchen Fall eine besonders hohe Chance für den Arbeitnehmer eine besonders hohe Abfindung mit dem Arbeitgeber auszuhandeln.

Vor- und Nachteile des Abfindungsvergleichs

Pro / Contra Abfindungsvergleich

Abfindung, Abfindung im Arbeitsrecht, Abfindung Anwalt, Abfindung Kündigung, Kündigung Abfindung

Die Entlassungsentschädigung bzw. der Abfindungsvergleich stellt den am häufigsten vorkommenden Fall der Abfindung dar. In einem solchen Fall erklärt der Arbeitgeber sich dazu bereit durch eine Kündigung oder Abschluss eines Aufhebungsvertrages dazu bereit dem aus dem Arbeitsverhältnis ausscheidenden Arbeitnehmer eine Abfindung zu zahlen. Selbstredend nur in dem Fall der Einverständniserklärung des Arbeitnehmers im Bezug auf die Beendigung des Arbeitsverhältnisses.

Inwiefern sollte der Arbeitnehmer auf den Abfindungsvergleich tatsächlich eingehen?

Pro Abfindungsvergleich:

  • Kostengünstigste Vergleichsmöglichkeit für den Arbeitnehmer um eine Abfindung zu erhalten. Es entstehen keine Anwalts- und Gerichtsgebühren. Zumal sich die gerichtliche Auseinandersetzung auch für den Arbeitnehmer durchaus nervenaufreibend und zeitintensiv entwickeln kann.
  • Hohe Abfindungsbeträge sind möglich. Das wirtschaftliche Risiko ist im Falle des Unterliegens im Kündigungsschutzprozess durch eine womöglich unwirksame Kündigung oder ähnliches sehr hoch und kommt dem gekündigten Arbeitnehmer zugute.
  • In der Regel ist das Ausstellen eines wohlwollenden Arbeitszeugnisses ebenfalls Bestandteil dieser Verhandlungen.

Contra Abfindungsvergleich:

  • Der Abschluss eines Vergleichs sollte wohl überlegt und geprüft sein, im Idealfall durch einen spezialisierten Rechtsanwalt, da der Inhalt nach Abschluss dieses Vertrages nicht mehr korrigiert werden kann.
  • Es besteht die Gefahr, dass die Zahlung einer Abfindung zu einer 3 monatigen Sperrfrist beim zuständigen Arbeitsamt führt, wodurch der Arbeitnehmer für diesen Zeitraum seinen Anspruch auf Arbeitslosengeld verliert. Teils kann die Sperrfrist sogar noch länger ausfallen.

Was ist ein Annahmeverzug und der damit verbundene Annahmeverzugslohn?

Definition Annahmeverzug / Annahmeverzugslohn

Die Definition des Annahmeverzugs und des damit verbundenen Annahmeverzugslohns lautet folgendermaßen. Der Annahmeverzug gemäß § 615 BGB entsteht dann, wenn der Arbeitnehmer dem Arbeitgeber seine Arbeitskraft anbietet, der Arbeitgeber diese jedoch nicht abruft.

Beispiel:
Ein Arbeitnehmer wird durch seinen Arbeitgeber nach Ausspruch einer Kündigung nicht mehr im Betrieb des Unternehmens beschäftigt. Der Arbeitnehmer reicht eine Kündigungsschutzklage ein und nach Beendigung des Kündigungsschutzprozesses stellt das Gericht fest, dass die Kündigung des Arbeitgebers als unwirksam gilt. Demnach hat rückwirkend das Arbeitsverhältnis zwischen Arbeitnehmer und Arbeitgeber einschließlich der Zeit des gerichtlichen Verfahren weiterhin fortbestanden. Somit besteht seitens des Arbeitnehmers dem Arbeitgeber gegenüber ein Anspruch auf den sogenannten Annahmeverzugslohn, der Lohn für die gesamte Zeit zwischen Kündigung und Beendigung des gerichtlichen Verfahrens. Da in besonders schweren Fällen solche Verhandlungen bzw. gerichtlichen Verfahren auch über Jahre hinaus andauern können, steht somit dem Arbeitnehmer im Falle des Anspruchs des Annahmeverzugslohns, sehr viel Geld zu.

Auch eine Abfindung muss versteuert werden

Versteuerung einer Abfindung

Der Arbeitnehmer dessen Arbeitsverhältnis durch eine Kündigung oder das Abschließen eines Aufhebungsvertrages endet und im Zuge dessen eine Abfindung erhält, muss diese immer voll versteuern. Jedoch ist es möglich, über die sogenannte Fünftelregelung, unter der Voraussetzung, dass die volle Abfindung in einem Kalenderjahr ausgezahlt wurde, eine Steuerermäßigung zu beantragen. Sozialversicherungsfrei sind Abfindungszahlungen jedoch in jedem Fall. Der Soli und die Kirchensteuer fallen jedoch trotzdem an.

Definition Fünftelregelung

Mit der sogenannten Fünftelregelung werden außerordentliche Einkünfte wie die durch eine Kündigung oder das Abschließen eines Aufhebungsvertrages erhaltene Abfindung im deutschen Steuerrecht begünstigt (§ 34 EStG). Eine einmalige, hohe Einnahme, wie die Abfindung, wird steuerlich so behandelt, als hätte der Empfänger diese gleichmäßig auf die nächsten fünf Jahre verteilt erhalten. Damit wird eine einmalige zu hohe Steuerbelastung des Arbeitnehmers vermieden, denn aufgrund der Steuerprogression wäre der Steuersatz deutlich höher als bei Verteilung auf fünf Jahre. Dazu wird bei der Berechnung der Steuer ein Fünftel der einmaligen Einnahme zum zu versteuernden Einkommen hinzugerechnet. Die Differenz zwischen diesem Betrag und dem (normalen) Steuerbetrag ohne einmalige Einnahme wird mit fünf multipliziert und ergibt den Steuerbetrag für die gesamte einmalige Einnahme.

In welchem Fall ist die Abfindung nicht sozialversicherungsfrei?

Zunächst sind sämtliche Abfindungen, die im Zusammenhang mit der Beendigung eines Arbeitsverhältnisses entstehen, durch eine Kündigung oder das Abschließen eines Aufhebungsvertrages z.B. , sozialversicherungsfrei, da der übergeordnete Sinn einer Abfindung der ist, den Wegfall eines Arbeitsplatzes und somit des damit verbundenen Einkommens des Arbeitnehmers monetär zu kompensieren. Allerdings gibt es auch hier Sonderfälle, Szenarien, in denen eben diese doch voll sozialversicherungspflichtig ist. Ebenso verhält es sich mit dem Abführen von Krankenversicherungsbeiträgen.

Diese lauten wie folgt:

  • Im Fall einer Änderungskündigung durch den Arbeitgeber
  • Im Fall des Auslaufens eines befristeten Arbeitsvertrages
  • Im Fall eines Betriebsübergangs
  • Im Fall des Eintritts in den Ruhestand
  • Im Fall der Auszahlung von Urlaubsabgeltungen für nicht genommenen Urlaub, der dem Arbeitnehmer jedoch zusteht

Sie wurden gekündigt oder haben einen Aufhebungsvertrag von Ihrem Arbeitgeber erhalten?

Dann kontaktieren Sie uns

+49 (0) 2273 - 40 68 504

info@kanzlei-baumfalk.de

Rechtsanwaltskanzlei für Arbeitsrecht in Kerpen, Köln und Witten

Anwalt für - Arbeitsrecht | Strafrecht | IT-Recht | Datenschutz